1 / 5

A true off-grid, 4WD access, remote experience in Botobolar, New South Wales, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 2 times
  • Last activity: 2 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Native wildlife all around (koalas, goanas, snakes, wombats, kanagaroos, wallabies, turtles, yabbies, emus).
    Our farm is its own private valley; some pasture with a creek running through the center, all surrounded by miles of bush.
    No mobile phone reception/internet (access is about 5km down the road)
    No hot water (unless the sun is out)
    Compost toilet
    We have a daily yoga practice which we do each morning and you would be welcome to join us.
    We are two women (from Germany & New Zealand) that have been living in Australia for many years.
    We have been on a mostly carnivorous diet for the past few years (to heal health issues brought on by an overly 'plant based' diet) we are on the land to be involved in every part of the process of providing our own ethical clean meat - eating nose to tail (organs, fat, everything plus tanning hides)
    Regenerative farming practices; chemical free - building soil & soil health (mulching & animal manure) - slowing the flow of water/erosion with land contouring - planting trees (fruit & nut) - strip grazing of sheep.
    We have three small breed pigs that like to go on bush walks and creek swim adventures.
    We have an electric 4WD farm buggy/UTV for getting around the farm.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Be involved in every part of the process of amateur nose to tail meat production for our own consumption.
    Be involved in the amateur tanning hides (with a bit of experimentation on natural methods)
    We have learnt another language (Spanish) so understand the huge effort involved and how helpful it is if people can speak slowly & clearly if needed.
    Proper meaningful conversations about this crazy thing we call life & the nature of consciousness (we are interested in spiritual development; understanding and working with this reality & human experience we find ourselves in)
    Shared meaty camp oven meals (when there is no total fire ban)
    A chance to detox from technology & processed foods :)

  • Help


    We would like to build an undercover fly screened deck under a tree next to our house that can be used for yoga & processing animals at times
    We have rocks in our paddocks that need removing & piling up for future projects
    We would like to create swales to slow the flow of water across our land.
    We would like to plant out many trees that we currently have in pots (mostly fruit & nut trees)
    We would like to build an enclosed (bird & animal proof) orchard area (recycled a tennis court fence).
    We have some welding projects for anyone who has experience with that.
    We let our chickens out to free range each morning and lock them back up at sun down (there are foxes about).
    We have sheep and we would like to keep up with strip grazing by setting up portable electric fencing every few days.
    We have so many projects that could be worked on - fresh energy & eyes could pick out anything that might seem appealing to you (ADHOC projects could be; clay rocket stove/oven, pizza oven, fire bath, swimming hole excavation, cave dwelling excavation, etc)
    We are intermediate Spanish speakers and would love to practice with others (native speakers or not)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We spent time in Peru, Uruguay, Colombia & Spain learning Spanish. We practice Spanish between ourselves at home. We would love to practice with other people (native speakers or not). We understand how difficult it is to learn a language and are happy to speak slowly & clearly to help people with English or German (Goodie is German)

  • Accommodation


    A room in our tiny cabin or a campsite down by the creek (equipment provided if needed)
    Again, note: no phone or internet connection (phone reception is 5km down the road)
    Compost toilet (or go in the bush)
    No hot water (although on a hot day at times, there is no cold water:-))
    Solar system electricity
    Gas or fire cooking
    Rainwater tanks

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a great community around us and you would be welcome to join us at any events (usually helping to harvest produce or watch/learn new skills, meals together with shared homegrown produce, etc).
    Bush walks. We are pretty isolated out there and nature is the main drawcard.
    Transportation would be own or public transport to the town of Mudgee where we could arrange to pick you up (we do not not go to town often)
    We have a large collection of DVD's and are always up for movie nights.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week - can be very flexible with this

Host ref number: 244198536223



Looking for volunteers to help us with gardening and building in the bush near Blue mountain stops in New South Wales, Australia
Hear stories of growing up in the bush near Nitmiluk National Park, Australia