Come join the family in Victoria, BC!

Country

Canada

Favourited 284 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    34  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    381

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi!

    Thanks for checking us out!

    We live on a cozy acre of partially forested land nestled in a quiet neighbourhood by the sea, just 15 minutes from downtown Victoria by bus - 10 minutes by car. Here we keep 12 chickens, 3 ducks, 5 honey bee hives, our loveable Australian Shepherd named Bandit, our 2 cats (R2D2 and Luke Skywalker), and several small gardens.

    We are a 2 minute walk from a major bus route into town and are happy to help with transportation ourselves as well. There are also several small beaches and an oceanside park within walking distance!

    A bit about us:

    After spending 2 years living primitively off the land, Travis returned to Victoria to manage a locally owned hobby farm store. He spends his weekdays there and is at home every evening and weekend working on the garden, with the animals, and on various yard and maintenance projects. Travis is passionate about living sustainably and learning and creating new ways to grow and provide food for our family.

    I (Sarah) stay home with our two boys - Tyee, 7, and Kodiak, 4. I am passionate about cooking and baking from scratch and providing a healthy lifestyle for our family. Prior to having children I travelled extensively to many countries around the world and found that my favourite part of travelling was meeting new people. I find that Workaway now continues to fulfill that passion by bringing travellers to me! I am also fluent in French and have some basic Spanish and love any opportunity to practice!

    We also share an online business which we are actively building to help support our lifestyle. At the moment, this is requiring much of our evening time so we especially need help with childcare during these times.

    We are both highly social people who thrive off having others around and strongly value the idea of living in community and having a low impact on the earth.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our main priority with inviting helpers into our home is to have it feel and function as a community. We have been Hosting Helpers for 6 years now and we have absolutely fallen in love with the experience! Having Helpers around has helped to create a sense of community for our family and provided us with many enriching cultural experiences. We look forward to many more to come!

  • Help

    Help

    Our main priority right now is our own online business. This requires some of our time in the evenings and so we often need help with childcare during these times.

    With spring just around the corner, we are starting to clean up the yard, get rid of junk, and prepare the gardens for the growing season. Otherwise its general tidying up and maintenance, help with general household chores, cooking, cleaning and childcare.

    The Help:

    Our Helpers' daily tasks include dog walking, collecting chicken and duck eggs, tending to the birds' food and water, helping with the kids, general household chores, and pitching in with any of the various projects we have going on at a given time.

    We usually need Childcare 2 to 3 evenings a week and sometimes during the day. But we always make sure there is plenty of time for you to do your own thing at other times, it just helps us so we don't have to scramble to find sitters at the last minute!

    We don't keep a set schedule or anything like that. Aside from the specific daily tasks, we just ask Helpers to integrate themselves into our family and contribute as needed. We always make sure our volunteers have plenty of time to experience the city and surrounding areas during their stay with us and we like to be amenable and do our best to accommodate Helpers' specific interests and skill sets.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, basic Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our accommodation includes your own private suite with private bathroom and balcony with ocean view. We also have an outdoor Hot Tub, bicycle, and canoes which we are happy to share!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a 2 minute walk from a major bus route into town and are happy to help with transportation ourselves as well. We also have a an outdoor Hot Tub, bicycle, and canoes which we are happy to share.

    Victoria is a vibrant city with lots of interesting sights and attractions to explore as well as events, markets etc. The surrounding area and the rest of Vancouver island boasts some of the most beautiful wildlife in the world and we love to help Volunteers experience it to its fullest. We often accompany our Volunteers to our favourite places around the island and we have taken Volunteers camping with us a number of times.

    Sarah is also fluent in French and has some very basic Spanish.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)























Host ref number: 242112268838