Enjoy urban lifestyle & join a young family at Petaling Jaya, a city right beside Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

  • Malaysia
  • Favourited 67 times
  • Last activity: 19 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Hi! This is Chek & Min and we are family live in a condominium at Petaling Jaya, a city right beside Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. We are family of 3 together with our rescued doggo DD (You can see him in one of our photos). Both of us work from home most the time.

    Chek profession is filmmaking and have a small company handling video production for advertising & social media related. Min is nail artist & worked in various public relation & administration related works and currently helping Chek's company mainly.

    Backpacking and work for accommodation is norm to us and we love the experiences of meeting people with different mind.

    Come join us and experience lifestyle of PJ, a place where cultures from all around the world gathered.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Malaysia is a multi-cultural society, you will be able to learn about different races' culture, language, religion, social etiquette, lifestyles and belief. Also, there a range of festivals that we do celebrate in Malaysia, it able to reflects its vibrant cultural diversity and religious tolerance, and assures you a glimpse into its rich traditions. While you saunter through this beautiful country exploring its many wonders, you will be able to witness a few of these Malaysian festivals and celebrations.

    With us you can experience young Malaysian family urban lifestyle. We are foodie so you may experience amazing food journey with us, taste some authentic food which only locals know.

    As we involved with video production and advertisement. You may experience these during your stay.

    Our conversation topics can be really wide and random, from shall we eat with bowl or plate, to what cause the existence of conscious. Any type of conversation are welcomed, to experience all type of mind and idea.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We believe everyone work best with own strength. You may refer to help we have stated but please share your strength and we will see how to work it out.

    People with digital art skills can help with Chek's company on building profile, create contents, or help Chek with video production. English writer are welcome too to help polish our writing.
    We will be glad to have people with yoga instructing passion or relatable to guide us on the training and practice.
    Our doggo DD love to learn stuff and exercise, you will find a good friend here if you can teach him some stuff. Or dog lover may help to handle DD's lifestyle.
    Other than that home maintenance is everyday task that you can help.

    Sometimes our work & life schedule can be hectic so if you prefer to work with minimal supervision & play it by ear, this can be a great place for you.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Malay: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent
    Chinese (Cantonese): Intermediate
    French: Beginner
    Japanese: Beginner
    Korean: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We have a small bedroom with 2 single bed mattress and air-conditioning that can fit 1 person. We live in condominium and we have good wifi, swimming pool, jacuzzi, gym, sauna, tennis & table tennis court which are complimentary to use.

    We can fetch you to nearest transport station or there(if it is near). Or you can join us for trip if there is any. You may arrange your own schedule during time-off.

    Our house can be reached by LRT. Please note that this is a NON-SMOKING HOUSE.

    Food will be provided, cooking by your own is allowed. Sometimes you may need to prepare or organize your food by yourself as we might be busy and not around. We eat almost everything, so it is good to know your dietary requirement.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    PJ (Petaling Jaya) is a localised city where you can experience truly authentic Malaysia urban lifestyle, yet get to experience culture from around the world.

    Our neighbourhood is a serene hood with great golf resort, lust greenery where you can enjoy a great jog & workout. Fantastic local restaurant & cafe even we approve it is one of the best you can get in Malaysia. Dine out cost around here is about the same as making own meal.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We are using 500mbps internet

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 239575795276

Feedback (2)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Looking for a creative gardener in Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Help and train in a Martial Arts Academy to teach stateless and underprivileged kids in Labuan F.T, Borneo, Malaysia