Teaching toddlers and taking care of nature go together in our project! in the Osa Peninsula, Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

Favourited 121 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 33 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a biologist working in the Osa Peninsula to protect monkeys and its forest!

    I have a husband and a toddler (3yrs) and 2 dogs

    We are in a small local community next to Corcovado National Park, beaches, Indigenous Reserves and much more ...

    We are kin to get to work with people from around the world

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our community is nestled in the forest the beach and Rincón river ... we have an indigenous population near our town as well as a Lodge where people from all over the world come to enjoy nature

    I am also a French speaker as I travelled with my family with my parents while they studied their grad school in Switzerland

    They will definetly Learn rural life as several farms are around and Spanish is the main language they will hear every day

    I love to share my knowledge about nature and Spanish

  • Help

    Help

    We would like help with teaching our toddler some English and playing with him and sometimes other kids that come to play with him (max 2-3) kids!

    I am a leader on my community so I also need help writing projects in English for the different projects I lead

    Volunteers are expected to help in making their food and keep clean and tidy the spaces they use

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish English French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a nice room with its own bathroom

    We will normally accept just one helper but if someone with very nice skills writes at the same time and if helpers are fine with sharing a room we will love to have 2 people at the same time

    We provide breakfast and lunch and we could share some dinners but normally they are very light. We encourage that our helpers buy some extra food for dinner in case they can cope with light meals at supper

    We love to bake and hopefully you learn lots about our culture in all aspects

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are right next to Corcovado ... a local Lodge offer tours which we could make happen with an excellent discount... river and forest are some blocks away and the beach is at 10 minutes in a motorbike which is the easiest and cheapest way to get to it .. we can provide a bike to move around

    As I grew my organization I had the help of several volunteers and always loved sharing time with them. They were always respectful of our house and values

    As we have a toddler around we wake up early and bedtime is early as well

    We have many spaces where helpers can read and have space for themselves

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 239514548132