updated  

Homeschooling Teaching- Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica

  • Favourited 1294 times
  • Last activity: 24 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Now seeking people with teaching potential for a mid- November or early December start date. Kaya will be 15 by then and studying grade 10 level material.

    Please read this thoroughly so you do understand the job description and expectations outlined.

    Female applicants only - sorry - my daughter is 14 and feels more comfortable working with a females. Thank you for your understanding.

    Often open to receiving longer term teachers. Generally one month minimum stay please. Sometimes exceptions are made in times of need.

    We are a family who is seeking support in homeschooling our daughter. We have lived in Costa Rica for 16 years now. We travel between Canada and Costa Rica each year. We have a nice, spacious home on Playa Preciosa (or Platanares) which is an easy bike ride to Puerto Jimenez. We own a sport fishing business here and I need some support in assisting my children with homeschooling.

    I am primarily seeking people with teaching experience and who are open to staying at least one month at a time. It will be your responsibility to engage Kaya in the schoolwork, teach dynamic lessons, creating discussion on the material; just as a classroom teacher would do with a classroom. Planning, reviewing the work with her, offering feedback, and keeping her on task are all aspects of the job. If you feel you have strengths in one area or another, I offer a lot of freedom in what we study and like to allow for space for workawayers to share their passions and expertise (example - music or arts etc). If you are providing Kaya with independent work and you are not needed during that time, such as essay writing or another project where she is expected to work independently for a period of time, then please be involved with household tasks such as washing dishes, sweeping floors, dusting, brushing dogs, walking dogs, watering garden etc. Example--- if you have given Kaya a task work on on her own, this does not mean that is your leisure time to read your own book, talk to friends, or be on your phone. We have lots to do here, just ask if you are unsure of what to do. Generally you will teach from 8:30-1 and then the rest of the day is yours. If you are not teaching for that amount of time then I can provide you with other jobs around the home, villas and yard. Workaway exchanges are 5 hours per day. I put 4.5 there as I would like that you have 1/2 an hour for planning daily as well. Meal preparation and clean up is something we all do together, or take turns doing. and not considered part of workaway time.

    I have a daughter going into 9th grade. I will have majority of the materials and books necessary. I need someone to follow through, plan, teach and do the work with her. I would like for people to stay at the minimum one month at a time.

    There is always something to do at our place whether it is with our 14 year old, in the yard, cleaning a vehicle, washing dishes or even just taking a dog for a walk on the beach. I am currently open to accommodating only one person at a time. I have a maid who comes 3 times per week so you are not expected to clean bathrooms or scrub floors but due to previous workawayers not helping in the kitchen I am including kitchen responsibilities as part of this opportunity.

    Could also be a bonus: Someone who has skills in website building or small business marketing.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a kind and generous family. We do a lot of outdoor activities. Culturally you are not really immersed in Costa Rican culture at our home, but nevertheless there is always some Spanish spoken with neighbors and friends etc.
    You will be in an amazing location with a pristine beach for long walks and immersion in a natural paradise. Look forward to disconnecting and just being in tune with the environment.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I have two children. Tosh who is now 19 years old and done school. He is currently focusing on starting his own fishing business as well as working towards being a pro surfer. Kaya who is 14 years old and is in 9th grade. I am originally from Canada. My husband and I operate a sport fishing charter out of Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula. I need support in homeschooling my daughter so that I can also focus on my other responsibilities of running the family business.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a nice guest room with a double bed. Patio doors, small deck out back. The house is spacious, open air style but all bedrooms are closed, fans, furnishings etc. Our family sleeps upstairs so you have the main floor to yourself after dinner. We will include 3 meals per day but appreciate if you purchase some of your own snacks or if you want specialty foods such as tofu, almond milk, protein powders, cashews, almonds, specialty cheeses etc and other expensive health foods then you will need to buy some of your own food. You are welcome to all the basics in the home such as condiments, sugar, coffee, salt, pepper, rice, beans, bananas, eggs. Sometimes we all eat together, other times everyone makes what they feel like eating. Please use common sense in regards to cleanliness and cleaning up after yourself. We do have a maid come three days per week but at the same time please tidy up and help out by washing dishes etc. I am learning as I go with this as well so let's be open and clear about expectations etc. I am sure each work away experience and each individual will be very different and I am open to taking the positive from each situation. At the same time we do all have to live together so we have to communicate openly and be respectful.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is tons to do in our area if you love nature and the outdoors. Please contact me and I will explain more.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week - My goal is to have you help with the kids from approx. 9-1 or 8-12 and have the afternoon & evening free.

Host ref number: 745863191381

Feedback (13)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)


















Research assistant for the sea turtle conservation project at a wildlife refuge in Costa Rica
Sustainable conscious place to live in Brunka Guadalajara, Costa Rica