Help a busy family with household and animals in Paddock Wood, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 339 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    27  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    210

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Energetic household with 6 year old boy. We live on a farm with lots of horses, very large dogs, cats, chickens, alpacas and a pig. We love equine facilitated learning, alpaca trekking. We are busy painting in the house, making improvements inside and out including gardening and general maintenance. Our horses live on a barefoot track system (paddock paradise concept). We need independent people that are good communicators with an enthusiasm to speak English or at least that try and communicate on a one on one basis with a can do attitude who value being part of our team (can work as a team member) during their stay just generally helping out with a flexible can do attitude. Just because we don't ask for help doesn't mean we don't need it. A typical day starts with a help your self breakfast (cereal or toast). We expect people to be ready for action at 8am sharp. We work together to organise a light lunch (sandwich, salad, soup) and we cook a communal meal in the evenings after finishing off the animals together (final hay for the horses and poo pick, putting the chickens to bed, feeding the dogs and alpacas) between 16:00 and 17:00. We get a lot of workaway enquiries and returning workaways - once dates are confirmed we do not expect flexibility as this is not fair on us or on the people we haven't been able to offer a place to. We are 100 per cent honest on our profile because we want the right people that will get a lot from their experience with us. Please note if you don't arrive on your agreed date and time and stay for the agreed period you are likely to get cancelled.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a very busy household with lots of people constantly in and out. You will be able to learn little bits from everyone about life in England. You would also be able to interact with all the animals and possibly lead to a more involved role with them depending on experience.

  • Help

    Help

    The majority of the work seems to be helping with the horse care and animals. We do expect people to help around the house and occupy our son at times. Always plenty of outdoor jobs which can include fencing, gardening jobs and whatever may arise that needs fixing. We can be busy with hay June/July time.
    There are 2 businesses that are run on the property and we do not expect any help with these. One of which is indirectly linked to our personal horses but is a community interest company limited by guarantee - a not-for-profit organisation.
    The work involved is to help us out with our personal animals (herd of horses, alpacas, couple of sheep, a pig a few chickens, dogs and cats).

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian, afrikaans

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a spare bedroom. We also have a tree house and Bell tents. We do weekly or twice weekly shops and bundle everything in.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Around a 15-20 minute walk to Paddock Wood
    Close to London - around 40 minutes by train from Paddock Wood.
    Close to Tonbridge where you can hire a boat and potter about on the Medway
    or take a walk or go fishing at the lakes in Hayesden Country Park.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Minimum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.6)

Cultural exchange: (4.4)

Communication: (4.0)

















Host ref number: 238492296938