Help needed on our cattle ranch with gardening and horses near Roma Qld, Australia



Favourited 375 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 19 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

  • Description


    My husband and I run a cattle breeding enterprise on 12,000 acres near Roma Qld. Our family have permanent jobs elsewhere so we enjoy having visitors to share and experience country life. We have an Australian/Quarter Horse stud. We rotational graze our cattle so this is mainly done using bikes but when we have young horses to work we also go mustering on horseback.
    Tractor and Dozer experience is a positive when fencing.
    Training of young horses is always occurring and we also enjoy the sport of Campdrafting. Experienced riders are preferred but not essential. A love of animals essential. We both have numerous work dogs and pets. A sense of humor and a love of the new and we would love to share our place with you.
    We provide the basic meals but feel free to bring your own snacks and alcohol. We sometimes have a drink before dinner.
    We have internet but since NBN satellite- it is often very slow and i am on a limited plan. Checking emails is fine.
    We get limited Telstra texts on good phones but mobile coverage has improved but is varied depending on your phone.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help


    Helping ride the horses, working and grooming horses.
    Mustering cattle
    mowing, weeding, planting our vegetable garden,
    cleaning out the shed,
    cleaning vehicles, , clearing paddocks, exercising the dogs, cleaning in the house, cooking, cleaning stables, cleaning horse gear.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Live in the house as a family member. We have accommodation for 2 either as a couple or we have 2 rooms.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are an hour from Roma but I shop here so take my visitors in to see the sights. Roma has the Big Rig,the largest cattle sale yards in the southern hemisphere.
    We have dams to swim and fish in and if you are not a competent rider this can be your leisure activity as we have a quiet horse to ride.If you have a driver's licence and are confident driving in Australia would be a bonus, but not necessary.

    We have access to beautiful riding and bushwalking country as our house is surrounded by bush with lots of wild animals and birds.

    Much of the work we will give you will be house , garden, horse or general maintenance related and sometimes we will tackle bigger jobs. There is plenty of time to go bushwalking with the dogs or ride and explore the area. You will each work about five hours a day, and we do expect people who can do a good job of what ever they do - i am quite a perfectionist, especially when it comes to cleaning ,but i am pretty easy going!

    Some of the jobs our past guests have done for us include:
    mowing, weeding, painting, cleaning out the shed, cleaning vehicles, working and grooming horses, clearing paddocks, exercising the dogs, cleaning in the house, planting our vegetable garden, cooking, cleaning stables, cleaning horse gear.
    No smokers!!!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 238491836354