Learn about off grid living and help me with DIY and gardening in my cave house in Cuevas Del Campo, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 148 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi my name is Ayla. I live in a small community of different cave houses. The great advantage of a cave is that it stays relatively cool during summer and warm during winter. Next to me lives Melita from Germany, after her is the cave of my grandma Hilde from Austria, and below me is Bastian from France. More loosely attached are Araki from Spain and Sam from UK.
    Since I came here about two years ago I learned a lot about construction and gardening. That's mainly what I do and for what I would like help.
    This place is what people make out of it. It's a little oasis in a desert-like area. We live in harmony with our surrounding and try to support what we like rather than fighting what we don't.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'm happy to share all the knowledge I gained so far from living off the grid and mostly from our own products (Bastian and me do the garden together).

    I know a lot about wild herbs - which to eat and how to use them for smaller health issues.

  • Help

    Help

    I would like help with the renovation of my cave and with the work on the land. If you have experience in building or gardening that's great - if not I show you the best I know and we propably learn more together.
    There is a lot of different things that can be done and it's up to you what you pick or you can even invent your own tasks. For example: building a mud house for the chicken, gardening, watering, planting trees, plastering, cutting trees, harvesting,...
    I expect 4-5 hours of work during 5 days of the week.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have place for up to 5 people in three seperate rooms. I'm in renovation - depending which part is being worked at it can get a bit messy.
    I have an outdoor shower and an outdoor toilet.
    We share the kitchen and I expect people to clean after themselves. Depending on individual preferences we can eat together or individually. I'm vegetarian and prefer if my guests are too.
    I don't want any kind of drugs in my place.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a daily bus to the nearest village, from there I or someone else can pick you up.
    Once in a while we go for an excursion with everyone who wants to join.
    Nearby is a lake, a mountain with small cristals, a thermal bath, the beautiful desert and a little valley to explore.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have no wifi in my cave. But next door at my grandma's there is a good wifi connection.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have lots of space to park.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













Host ref number: 235536838182