Help in my massive garden, around the house and with Languages in a lovely part of the English countryside in a remote 17th-century gamekeepers cottage ! England, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 94 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    40

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a lovely part of the English countryside in a remote 17th-century gamekeepers cottage surrounded by farmland. At one end of the farm track on which we live is a beautiful National Trust village and we have several very pretty country walks on our doorstep.

    Our family consists of:
    Lucie (Mummy): I am self-employed and work from home. I love food, music, and yoga. I am also doing an English Literature Degree so I am keen on reading and films. Because of my work, I am also very keen on Netflix TV shows! I am also keen to learn languages!
    Ollie (my son) is 8 years old. He loves dinosaurs, films, chocolate, and is vegetarian. He is learning Japanese, French and Spanish. We would both like to learn Italian as well
    Dave and Mave: Our 2 very large lovable dogs. They make a lot of noise when they bark but they just want to play.
    Molly: Our cat who thinks she runs the place.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in National Trust parkland near the Vale of White so we are very rural, the nearest public transport is 6 miles away.
    We are about 15 minutes drive from Swindon, 35 drive minute from Oxford, 50 mins drive from Bath, 70 minutes train journey from London.
    Swindon station can take you out to Bristol, Bath, Cardiff, London and (with a change of station) Oxford and Taunton in Somerset.
    There are several pretty walks and plenty of places to cycle nearby. We are also close to the White Horse Hill where you can climb to the highest point in Oxfordshire and marvel at views stretching out over six counties. Our nearest village is wholly owned by the National Trust so has beautiful houses and is a lovely little place to explore (plus it has a pub!)

    We can help with your English conversation and you can experience rural England

    As we are remote, someone with their own transport would be preferred as you will be fairly isolated without this. However, I am happy to give lifts when I am able.

  • Help

    Help

    Lots of things!
    - I need help with a very large garden. There is general maintenance (mowing, hedge trimming, bed maintenance etc) plus a few projects (e.g. an orchard that needs clearing a veg patch that needs maintaining )
    - As it is an old house rooms need painting from time to time.
    - Some occasional help with childcare would be appreciated.
    If you have any other skill, or you are particularly skilled in any of the above do make it clear when you message me as I am open to suggestions.

    It will involve 4 hours a day, maximum of 20 hours per week; the hours will need to be flexible as my work hours are not always structured. We need someone who doesn't mind if things change a little as we go along. In the school holidays things can work quite differently from during term time.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a spare room on the ground floor. The bed is a sofa bed and is quite comfortable. Although the room would be your own, my office cubby hole is in there so I will need access from time to time.

    We have wifi.

    We are happy to welcome male and females into our home. Couples are also welcome.

    We would like a trial period of 2 weeks with you and if we are all happy we can agree on a time period to suit us both of us.

    Breakfast and lunch we make our own arrangements for food (I have a well stocked fridge and larder). In the evening we eat as a family and it would be great if you join us and help with preparing and tidying up after meals. We eat a wide range of food including meat & fish but our meals aren't always meat based as we like vegetarian and vegan food too.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have had very successful experiences with au pairs in the past when Ollie was young, also with Foreign exchange students so we are used to, and love, having visitors join our family.

    I do not smoke so would prefer people that also do not smoke. I also do not drink but am happy for you to drink moderately in the house and have no problem if you want to go out on nights out.
    Please remember, however, that I work and have a small child so late night noise and/or parties are not welcome.

    To reiterate again; we are very remote so you may feel quite isolated especially if you do not have a car. If however, you like the countryside, dogs, and walks this may well be the place for you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Naoki our 12th workaway :)
Ryo our 11th workaway :)
Rayan and Adriene our 10th workaway :)
With Miki our super smiley 9th workaway xx
Hiromu our funny 8th work away 😁
Tatsuro our lovely 7th work-away!!
With Megumi our lovely 5th work away xx
With Akiyo, our wonderful 6th workaway. xx
With Lucie our 4th work away xx
This is us with Victoria, our 3rd workaway friend xx
With our second Workaway Go :)
The road to our house
Ollie and Dave
Mummy and Ollie at Christmas!










Host ref number: 234246295589

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more