Help with Renovations and Gardening in a small community close to the Baltic sea in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,
    we are a small community of 5 adults, two kids and two more kids on their way :)
    In the main house live Sarah and Derek, a German/Canadian couple with their 4-year old son Tom. They just bought the house with a big yard and garden 25km away from Rostock in a very small village. Since march 2020 Sarahs sister Kim, her husband Jonas and two-year-old daughter Noemi moved into the house as well. Caroline, Sarahs and Kims Mum lives in her campervan on the property. We all have our seperate private rooms and share the kitchen and eating area. We take turns in cooking dinner and that’s where we meet at least once a day for a shared meal. But it is also the area where we just hang out together.

    Right now we are in the process of finishing renovations around the house. We also do a lot of gardening since everything is growing beautifully this time of the year. Our current projects are:

    Renovating the upper apartment where Kim and Jonas live
    Painting the house and building a patio roof
    improving and moving the solar shower Derek built last year
    gardening (weeding, lawn mowing, cutting bushes, extending the vegetable garden)
    harvesting, harvesting, harvesting (potatoes, cherries, apples, pears, plums,...) and making yummy things out of it
    Childcare - Noemi is not in kindergarten yet and Tom is also at home in the afternoon's

    Most of us are at home most of the time because of parental leave or home office and are involved in the projects around here. We love to stay outside whenever it´s possible and often enjoy a nice campfire at night. There is several beaches around we love to go to and have fun with the kids and would be happy to give you a ride.

    There is also a lot to discover around the area we live. In 25-30 mins you can access several different beaches where you can just swim, or do water sports. Warnemünde as well as Rostock are only a 30 mins drive away and both are towns worth visiting if you are looking for a real holiday feeling.

    We are excited for help as much as getting to know new people and sharing ideas and skills.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can teach some renovating skills, shooting bow and arrow, knitting and sewing. We can exchange/teach cooking experiences. We can take you for some water sports activities (surfing, stand up paddling, kite-surfing)
    There is also lots of wildlife (mostly birds and deer)

  • Help

    Help

    People here could choose, if they want to help with renovating the house or gardening or do some babysitting or other work around the house. No experience required.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a cabin with power. It is not insulated, so it can get hot during the day and a bit cold at night. There is a compost toilet beside the cabin. Bathroom is in the house. We cook and eat together in the house and eat mostly vegetarian.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located 30 min. by car from the ocean. There is a bus that runs three times a day, and it is also possible to take one of our cars.
    We have never hosted before, but have volunteered lots ourselves and are looking forward to some fun experiences together!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 234146395524