Join us on our little farm and see how a kiwi family lives, Otago, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/11/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    So a wee bit about us...We have two children 2 and 4 years old as well as two pet dogs and a working dog to help move stock. We have sheep, beef, pigs and chickens that we breed and raise to eat. We also have a large poly tunnel for growing vegetables all year. We love the lifestyle having a small farm gives us and we would love to share it with you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If your here over the winter months we show our chickens at poultry expos which your most welcome to get involved with as it is heaps of fun!

    If your here in spring there will be calves and lambs to bottle feed as well as lots of little chicks we hatch about 200 every year in spring.

    You are welcome to be as involved as you wish with our little farm and to see how a kiwi family lives you can help fix fences, feed pigs, irrigate the pasture and feed the stock ect.

    The property is 10 min out of town and there is no public transport so you will need your own. If we are going to town we are happy to take you with us or pickup and drop off from the bus.

    There is some great things to do around us, Alps to ocean cycle trail, Oamarus Victorian Precinct and steam punk, Clay Cliffs, Elephant Rock, Moeraki boulders to name a few.

  • Help

    Help

    We are currently looking for people to clear sticks and branches from a paddock which recently had a block of trees cleared.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation provided can be a double bedroom in the main house or a semi self contained sleep out with power and a wood burning fire to stay toasty in winter, there is a double bed and a single bed, your own fridge, tv and toilet but shower and kitchen facilities are in the main house, we would prefer non smokers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 228767652296