Help with various projects to a cottage and gardening in BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/08/2018

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in a 800 sq.ft. two bedroom cottage in a small village about 5 minute walk to Slocan Lake.This is a pristine lake, we drink from it when we swim in it. I have a large lot and a large vegetable garden and fruit trees. We are surrounded by snow-capped mountains and wilderness. I also burn wood primarily for heat.
    You would have your own bedroom, but share bathroom and kitchen. I eat mostly vegetarian, but right now on the ketone diet. I like to garden, hike, swim and paddle in this lake. I belong to a Dragon Boat club. I am easy-going, flexible and fun-loving. There are many easy low elevation hikes within a few minutes from my home.
    It would be great to have someone to lend a hand with some gardening jobs, putting food-by chores, cooking a meal, or just general cleaning up, perhaps a small building or painting project. Nothing to heavy, difficult or onerous.
    This is a very beautiful area and people often come here for a visit and end up coming back to live. We have a lively arts community and there are often music events or art exhibits or workshops to attend. You can visit slocanlake.ca to see what it's like around here.
    I am a friendly warm-hearted person and would hope to make you comfortable here. I am fairly knowledgeable about wild plants and flowers as well. FYI I teach ballroom dance and would be pleased to teach you if you were interested I enjoy all kinds of music, attend weekly yoga classes and have an eclectic spiritual attitude toward one and all. Come visit me! Abrazos. Fran.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Gardening, wild plant identification and life skills (building, painting, gardening, harvesting) and local history. If they are foreign, I speak university level English and am a published writer. I also teach ballroom social dance and would be happy to share that.

  • Help

    Help

    I wrote most of the details about help required in the section above. I'm thinking of a small building project, a lattice screen on my back porch, cleaning out my wood shed and staging a yard sale? could be fun. Painting the small kitchen and of course, always garden and yard work. Planting, weeding, harvesting and putting food by, depending when you show up. Always lots to do and always lots of time to play! IF you speak another language I could perhaps help you with that. I am interested in learning Spanish. I could also use some help on the computer.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I can offer a comfortable 3/4 bed in a small private bedroom. (bedding provided) The window opens and the floor is wood. There will be a light to read by in bed and a space to sit and write at. You would be sharing the bathroom (4 piece) with myself. Food will be basic, essentially fresh from the garden. Other food costs for meat and dairy etc. will be shared between us. (Snack food and treats, you are on your own) And we will take turns cooking and cleaning up. (No dish washer) But there is a clothes washer for your use and I dry clothes outside or in if inclement.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This village is very small but New Denver, 45 minute walk, 12 minute bike ride or 8 minute car ride is 4 km. away. Most amenities are there, post office, grocery store, health food store, gallery and retail clothing/gift. There is a good coffee shop here and two more in New Denver. There are weekly gallery openings with live music and snacks during the summer. There are also other beaches to visit and great little hikes very nearby. We also have a ghost town of Sandon which is a visitor must-see which includes a trip to the alpine and a 45 minute ridge walk for spectacular views. (I also have a kayak for your use at the lake, two blocks away and they could join me in the Dragon Boat twice a week. There is a bus to the City of Nelson 96 km. on Tuesdays and Thursdays. $6 return. Leaves at 9 a.m and departs Nelson at 3, a reservation is recommended. Slocan & Arrow Lake Community services.
    I am new to this site and have little experience managing helpers or living communally so it will be a journey of discovery and negotiation for both of us. I generally enjoy a glass of wine with dinner in the evening and spend some time reading or wander down to the lake for the sunset. I don't have a lot of visitors. Some nice neighbours nearby and I would endeavour to introduce you to folk your age.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 227881128728