We need a farm help and offer a cultural exchange near Ottawa, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 181 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    35  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    339

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We would be very happy for extra help.
    June 2019 / CURRENTLY LOOKING FOR:
    -Building and/or electrical experience
    -Manual labour to clear compost from the barn, build more permaculture gardens
    -Animal care
    -House cleaning
    -Live in teacher or artist (for 11 year old)

    We are former travellers with a newfound desire for deeper roots - Our family is settling into a beautiful place. 18 acres of land, a barn, animals, creative open farmhouse, nestled by a river, and 50 mins. to Ottawa Canada.


    About us:
    Zion's (age 18) great at self motivated building projects (latest = tree house). Interest in meat smoking and Natural Horsemanship.
    Eamon's (age 11) passion is his Chickens, Chicks, and Eggs (not sure which came first). Also loves playing games.
    Elmir works full time hours from home so is here but not always available for our work projects. He is very passionate about all of our projects future and present!
    Brandie enjoys this soul bursting space, crafting, building permaculture garden's ,and taking morning strolls with the animals. Recipes for happy and healthy when the work is shared.
    Winter tends to be more of a crafting time with house renovations.
    Food preservation and preparation is year round.

    This space will be used for gatherings. What will bring people here? The vision: Argicultural education through living an oldschool farm experience, incredible stargazing, art classes, dreams of barn dances, prenatal education, weekend picnics, nature / farm schools, the traditional gourmet food and farm fresh goodies.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love to host in a community style. Our experiences run deep from our travels and our guests can expect to be made part of the family (and extended family). We can lead you to both the city tourist sites of Ottawa and the country living of Rural Canada life. Both of our boys are outgoing and we all freely share what we know while continuing to learn. Brandie and the children are bilingual French / English but mostly we speak English at home. We often have families over. There are strong creative juices to soak in and lots of crafts to try.
    Bring clothes for all weather. Expect to get dirty and work hard (there are always jobs on the go and others waiting to be done).

  • Help

    Help

    On our to do list: (extra points for self initiating a job that you see needing done. We appreciate independence and self motivation mixed with some group brainstorming) (many seasonal)
    -Building barn doors
    -Farm fencing
    -Restoring a fibreglass Kayak
    -Organic gardening using permaculture concepts
    -Housework / cleaning
    -Prepping Firewood
    -Build extra chicken run
    -Food preservation (fermentation, canning, meat smoking, butter churning..)
    -Cheese making (currently on break from milking as we wait for babies this spring)
    -Re-build base of barn in traditional cedar cord wood style (this will be a one month major project)
    -Making a bathroom
    -Building compost toilets
    -Animal care (yes, this includes cleaning up after them)
    -Bread baking then later planning and building outdoor oven + smoker
    -Yard clean-up and maintenance
    -Nature/farm school curriculum and facilitation
    -Campsite designs and building a natural playground
    -Art on the property
    -Round pen construction for Horse groundwork and natural training
    -In floor heating system
    -Deck construction
    -Bee keeping
    -Establishing a forest mushroom garden next year
    (extra points for self initiating a job that you see needing done)
    ... let us know what you would like to contribute while you are here :) (some are dependent on season, resource availability, and others are ongoing..)
    .We ask for 5 hours of help a day, as well as an expectation that you fit into our family life flow (help with meal prep and clean up, sweeping floors, ..) . We can not offer a very specific predictable work schedule as the days vary.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French (some Spanish and Bosnian)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Comfortable, clean, private room with a real bed in the house, or camping outside - you choose.
    Shared washroom.
    With a house full of foodies - meals will be fresh homemade family style collective efforts (whether inside or out).
    We will have a set time for late breakfast and dinner - Otherwise food will be left to help yourself.
    We are adaptable to dietary needs and, as much as we do eat meat (just not pork), most of our meals are vegetarian. Be welcome to cook too!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our home is under an hour from downtown Ottawa and we like to take excursions to the city a couple times a week. We can pick our guests up form Aylmer Quebec as there is no public transit here. At the farm, expect a slower life pace that somehow always has motion. Let some time slide while enjoying a slow breakfast, petting a donkey, kayaking, visiting a nearby beach on the Ottawa River.. We can visit local waterfalls, hike Gatineau Park, visit other farms.. If you like, we go to a livestock auction, ski / waterpark, ..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
























Host ref number: 927899571519