Live in Venice and enjoy the local lifestyle, be a big sister to our girls in Italy!

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 668 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    792

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Female & English speakers only*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ABSOLUTELY no smokers*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️
    At the moment looking from June 2020

    We are a family of 5 all born in different places!
    Mom works as a translator mostly from home and dad is a Civil Engineer.
    Our three girls (Olivia, Camilla and Sofia) go to school from 8-4 pm Monday to Friday.
    We live in beautiful Venice and just moved into a house built in 1700 that we had completely remodelled (and still doing some work)!

    As a well-traveled couple we are looking for someone who's enthusiastic, relaxed, trustworthy, active, patience, fun and playful to help with the kids after school, a BIG SISTER for our girls.

    We are a globetrotters family, together with our girls we've visited almost 30 countries and we love to meet new people and cultures. We enjoy sharing travel stories.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Venice is an open-air museum. It has been the same for centuries, you will feel like entering a piece of art and you could spend forever exploring the city's labyrinth of narrow passageways, alleys and bridges.
    As a family, living in such a slow-paced city is an amazing experience.

    We are pretty easy-going, love cultural exchanges as we lived and studied abroad and have traveled with our girls to almost 30 countries in the past 6 years. We speak Italian and Spanish at home and would love to improve our girls' English. We love to learn about different places and cultures.

    If you are interested in learning or improving your Italian we will be glad to help you too!

    We would like to welcome someone that appreciates the city and its uniqueness and takes the most out of her stay. We prefer someone that loves to explore around (even alone), an active, positive and outgoing person who takes the most out of this experience and goes sightseeing around instead of staying all day home online.

    Venice is the only city of its type in the world and a UNESCO World Heritage Site
    This is a UNIQUE opportunity, specially if you are interested in Art, visiting Museums and Historic Places.

  • Help

    Help

    Basic cleaning to be done in the morning: making the girls' beds, cleaning your bathroom and vacuuming and setting up the play area.
    Twice a week help dad getting the girls dressed and ready to go to school.

    Afternoon from 2 or 3.30 pm usually until 6.30ish, help will mostly be needed by picking up the girls from school, taking them to their afternoon classes or home to play (by public boat or walking) and helping in the evening routine (supervising the girls during bath time, picking up toys or setting up table dinner while mom cooks, etc)
    One evening per week, if we go out.
    Weekends are mostly free and you can visit Venice or other beautiful places in Italy or even Europe.

    We would like to share meals together as a family (at least dinners) and as a family member we appreciate help in the house by keeping it tidy, just as any adult in the house will do.
    We prefer someone who likes to live in a family environment and that is open to different food that maybe new or unusual for her.

    Our main focus is for our girls to learn English, by doing their regular routine. We are looking for a loving person that likes and enjoys being with kids, a bubbly person that TALKS to them, makes them laugh and PLAYS with them trying to ENGAGE them asking to join on their game and keeping them entertained.
    Someone who knows how to be silly and goofy at the right time, but serious and firm when needed.
    We would love someone with a "teaching spirit" that is eager to correct their English (EACH time!) and help them REPHRASE. We don't need someone that just sits around and "watches" them ;)

    If you are a swimming instructor, art teacher, play an instrument, know how to dance, draw, sing, cross stick, knit, do yoga or have any other talent or skill that you are happy to share and teach our children, we would love that!!

    Most important qualities:
    honesty
    a clean and tidy person
    love caring for children
    responsible and well-organized
    optimistic and joyful
    active and curious
    adaptable person
    experienced
    a teacher or have a "teaching spirit"
    have lots of patience
    willing to enjoy the experience and to create a bond

    It's really important that you have EXPERIENCE working with kids and that you are CONFIDENT AND PATIENT with them and enjoy helping them improve their English, get involved with the family and in return we will hope to make you feel welcomed in our home and a unique city as Venice.

    We receive lots of requests and I ALWAYS reply back quite quick :)
    Write me if you feel you can match our family.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a private small room with double bed on the third floor of our house with a bathroom next to your room (girls use it only during bath time or at night). There are 3 bathrooms in the house, so there's never a queue!

    If you've never been to Italy or Europe please take into account that living spaces in Venice are much smaller compared to USA/Canada or Australia. Most of our previous workawayers were backpackers and the space in their room worked fine (there are mostly drawers and various shelves).

    We eat a variety of foods and we have a meat and plant-based diet. While we eat some meat (once or twice a week) we will be happy to accommodate vegetarians, however we won't be able to accomodate those with lots of allergies or who are very picky about food and need to cook their own dishes (due to kitchen organization and spaces). Mom or dad will cook for everybody, as it’s easier :)

    For breakfast we offer: home-made cakes, bread, marmalade, oats, cereal, granola, cow's milk, plain yogurt, coffee, tea and seasonal fruits.
    Lunch will be offered during weekends as we are all working/at school during the week.
    You are free to help yourself out from the fridge/pantry and prepare something easy and quick like a sandwich, wrap, salad, etc.

    For dinner we usually eat: vegetables cooked in different ways, salads and home-made soups, legumes, cous-cous, pasta, barely, farro, rice (risotto), corn polenta, potatoes, cheeses, home-made pizza, home-made piadina, home-made hummus, some fish and meat as well. We drink tap water and occasionally alcohol (beer or wine).
    During the weekends we often prepare tiramisù or other desserts.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can visit Venice or any of its islands.
    There's public transport available (by waterbus- you should get a monthly pass) or by foot.
    During the summer months (May-Sept) you can relax at the beach at Lido Island on the Adriatic sea which is a few minutes away by boat!

    There's a train station where you can take trains to visit any place in Italy (Verona, Florence, Milan, Rome), or even close countries such as Austria, Switzerland, Germany and France.

    Flixbus is another cheap option that will take you to Croatia for 15€ r/t

    We have two important airports (Marco Polo and Treviso Airport) with flights to most destinations in Europe for a weekend getaway (, , etc).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Big Sur, California
Alps, Italy
Kauai, Hawaii

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)






Host ref number: 777187862325

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more