Extra pair of hands needed in the Highlands of Scotland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 136 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Do you like the countryside and a relaxed atmosphere?
    I am looking for some help in the garden this summer; grass cutting, planting, tidying up, DIY jobs.
    We live in a beautiful part of the country with nature all around.
    We have two self-catering properties that we rent for holidays lets. It is around these areas I also require some help with cleaning.
    I will give you a food allowance each week so you can buy your own food. You will be staying in your own small apartment studio (bedsit), which has bedroom/living space, kitchen and bathroom. It is perfect for a singleton, or perhaps a couple could stay there.
    If you are interested please drop me a message :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Accommodation and allowance for food. I usually go for a weekly shop, you can come along and that means you can get some of the things you like as well.
    Hopefully, we can share some of our knowledge with each other while you are here. I will try my best to show you local area that is so beautiful.

  • Help

    Help

    The days on which you will help are pretty flexible. Most of the time we will be working together on jobs/projects but sometimes you will be working alone.
    We would like people to come and stay for at least 2 weeks at a time.
    We will need help in a variety of areas. What we need help with just now are as follows.

    Helping around the property, DIY skills would be very useful
    Gardening- Some work may be heavy and you'll need to be happy to muck in and get your hands dirty sometimes!
    Grass cutting- prior knowledge with a lawn mower and strimmer a necessity!
    Housework- you may be asked to help get the property ready sometimes.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private apartment to yourself! No room sharing!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lots and lots to do near by if you like the outdoors.
    Hiking, Golfing, Cricket, Football(till end of May), Fishing, Skiing(ends mid April), Yoga.
    We live in a very historical area with lots of different things to see, ranging from a famous gorge where an English soldier once jumped when fleeing from the fierce Scottish army, a fairy tale Castle in the town or going to see The Atholl Highlanders, the last private army in Europe. There is also two youth hostels in the town if you want to socialise with some other travellers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Approx 5 hours a day, 3 days a week

The resident pooch- Dougie
Join us on walks. This is at the top of Ben Y Vrackie a good few years back
Summer sunset at Kinnaird
Dougie with Ben-Y-Vrackie in the background
Winter wonderland
Beautiful winter sunset at Kinnaird.


Host ref number: 225148212322