Help our family to build with natural, salvaged, and recycled materials in Gunns Plains, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there lovely travellers! Sam (37) Clara (31) and Reilly (1.5) here. While Reilly was just a twinkle our eyes, Clara and I spent 4.5 years travelling Australia in our awesome veggie oil powered Landcruiser, searching for the most beautiful spots to set up camp and call home for a week or two. After out first 3 month tour of Tasmania, we just fell in love with the place, returning every summer for more of the same. Somehow we just knew we'd end up here. As we travelled, we gained a real appreciation for simple living, and developed a taste for the best organic local food sourced from farmers markets as we went. This just helped fuel the dream of a beautiful camp to set up in permanently, and do our best at living a low impact, natural, self sufficient, homesteading lifestyle.

    When 6 months pregnant, out of the blue, the bank of Dad called up and offered a loan to help make our dream come true. And we‘ve always dreamed big. We still cant really believe we live on 47 acres of beautiful forrest right on the banks of Leven river (one of the cleanest in the developed world), on a gentle north facing slope, with large sunny clearings, a spring fed dam, 4 permanent creeks, fertile soil, a massive caged garden and orchard, abundant wildlife, seclusion and privacy, and only 40 min from Devonport.
    One of the things we have fast learned about this lifestyle though, is just how much there is to be done. We find ourselves wishing there were more hours in the day, or more helping hands. We can totally see why having lots of kids was a thing back in the day, but as it turns out, growing a workforce is even more time consuming hard work!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Past volunteers have all had a great time, as have we with them. You are bound to learn all sorts of new skills about self sufficiency, organic gardening, homesteading, natural building, and how to do more, with less.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love your great company, happy smiles, funny stories, and of course, your help with the multitude of tasks and projects that always seem to pop up faster than we can tick them off.
    Mowing and gardening, felling trees and milling timber, installing water tanks and irrigation systems, harvesting fruit, berries and veggies, pickling and preserving, milling flour and baking bread, fixing and maintaining vintage vehicles, cutting splitting and stacking firewood, setting up solar and hydro power systems, planting trees and seedlings, digging holes and gravelling driveways, building sheds and setting up bio–diesel plants, hanging out with Reilly, cutting walking tracks, feeding the chooks and ducks, hunting and fishing, among many other things, are all on the list, and the priorities seem to change daily.
    Probably the biggest and most important project that we desperately need help with, is building a comfortable little cabin to live in, while we save and plan for the dream home build. We will fell trees and mill timber from our forrest, and use natural, salvaged, and recycled materials wherever possible. Its a big, daunting task, but with the help from some awesome workawayers, we are sure we can get it done by the time the next Tassie winter rolls around!

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Life is pretty simple here, and when we took over the block 12 months ago, other than the amazing garden, all that was here was a open faced shed, and a caravan! We have since closed off, and put a floor in the shed, and added another caravan (thanks Marc and Jonas, that was an epic week, you guys rock)
    We have set up another caravan with a roof and little verandah, a bit seperate from our homestead, as our guest accomodation. Should you come and stay with us, this will be your digs. Its a nice little cosy space, with the option of 2 double(ish) beds, or a bed and a table/chairs. It also has a gas stove and basic kitchenette for snacks and cups of tea etc. If more than one groups time here crosses over, or you want more privacy from your travel buddy, we also have cool old double decker bus that can easily be converted into another lounging/sleeping space.
    A big part of our motivation for this lifestyle is to be able to feed ourselves (and you) in the best way possible. A lot of our food is grown ourselves, seasonally, organically, and is as fresh as it gets. Meat (home grown/caught where possible) and animal fats do feature in our cooking, and although vegetarian is a possibility, we would find it hard to cater to vegans and fussy eaters. We would appreciate your input into mealtimes, with everyone sharing the responsibilities of menu ideas, cooking and clean up.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Its absolute paradise here, and time off can be spent relaxing around the campfire, swimming, bush walking, mountain bike riding, canoeing or fishing. We have a huge selection of card and board games, and plenty of outdoorsie, sporty games as well. The Gunns Plains caves, Wings Wildlife Park and the Leven Canyon are all close by, and we are in a perfect position to explore the beautiful North West Coast. Although we cant offer helpers a car at present, we are happy to cater to a small amount of running you around when it ties in with our off block missions. The internet does work here, in a limited capacity (telstra only), with some phones working better than others. Most do struggle with more than the odd text message though. Ours plugs into an external aerial, so by hot spotting in the evenings, you can keep in touch with friends and family. Streaming is often difficult, so we would recommend downloading content beforehand, or taking advantage of our huge hard drive full of movies and shows.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    The track in is unsealed, and sections can be a bit rough/slippery at times. A decent tow vehicle and reasonable clearance is required.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Children, and wildlife reside here, pets must be under control at all times

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 191633818461