Join us on our beautiful piece of land in Northern Alberta, Canada with horses

Country

Canada

Favourited 55 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! My name is Krish, amongst other things, I am an artist and a carpenter. I live on a beautiful piece of land in Northern Alberta, Canada, with my father, Gerry. We have two seperate dwellings on 320 acres of land, about 40 minutes from a major City. Much of it is beautifully forested. We have many hiking and horseback riding trails. Currently we are keeping 6-8 horses. You would be able to ride them.
    We also grow a huge organic food garden every year, and have a couple of small berry orchards. Firewood is our main source of heat, so gathering, splitting and piling this for the winter would be one possible task. We would also need help with planting, maintaining, and harvesting the garden. It's a great learning experience, and a lot of fun.
    There are always carpentry projects on the go that help will be needed for as well. General groundskeeping duties, such as lawn mowing, will be part of it too. Help in the kitchen is always needed too.
    If you are artistically inclined, there can be the possibility of using my studio to do a project of your own, or maybe even a collaboration piece with me!
    We have had previous Workaway people stay here from Germany, and Italy. It was a lot of fun. One young man from Germany even returned the next summer!
    English is our primary language, but my father does speak some Spanish.
    Unfortunately we can not pay, but we will feed you very well, and of course provide lodging. We are by no means slave drivers, but of course during the day, working on something is to be expected. There will be ample free time for you to enjoy the stay here.
    If you would like, pictures can be provided.
    Hope to see you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a good opportunity to learn many things about gardening, horses, art, carpentry, ect. My father is a pretty interesting character and a wealth of knowledge. The land is uniquely beautiful too. Most people don't want to leave!

  • Help

    Help

    General help with carpentry, the garden,horse keeping, grounds keeping, cooking, and other projects that pop up on the farm.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There will be a couple of options for lodging. We have a converted school bus with a built in bed and wood stove, and a midsize RV. Most people want to stay in the school bus! The bathroom in the main house will be used for showering and most bathroom needs. Food preperation will be shared and mostly done in the main house, but my father quite often has something good cooking at his house. We eat well here. 😉

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have many interesting neighbors to visit, and depending on the timing, there are various rodeos to attend. My father also does mounted shooting competions (shooting black powder on horseback from pistols at ballon targets) you may be able to attend. He practices a lot in our own arena, it is pretty fun to watch. We will do our best to take you to some fun locations and activities while you are here. Also, once again, depending on timing, I may need help working some outdoor art shows. That is also a lot of fun.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 223514951467