Help with family permaculture design and techniques in Melo e Nabainhos, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 27 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    EN
    At the foot of the highest mountain range in Continental Portugal, Serra da Estrela, lays the old and beautiful house built on top of one of the hundreds of giant stones in the central area of ​​Portugal (hence the name of the estate "The Place of the High Stone").

    For more than a century, it has been meticulously and tastefully built as a place of relaxation and family reunions and has remained to this day the ideal hiding place for intimate moments in the family.

    One of our objectives is to allow nature to thrive, to take a regenerative and organic approach to agriculture, applying Permaculture principles and designs, to interfere as little as possible with the environment, to go about it all in an organic way - one that is not harmful to nature.

    We gladly receive short/medium/long-term volunteers, but we prefer medium/long term, to help us with all the Permaculture implementation, from the veggie garden, making slow and fast hot compost, human manure, planting trees, building dry toilets, fencing, take care of the horses, chickens, cleaning the terrain, the stables, the wood for fire and wood for several uses, the cut of the dead trees, etc etc etc


    PT
    No sopé da serra mais alta de Portugal Continental, a Serra da Estrela, situa-se esta antiga e bela casa construída sobre uma das centenas de pedras gigantes da zona central de Portugal (daí o nome Quinta da Pedra Alta).

    Ao longo de mais de um século, Alta foi construído, meticulosamente e com muito bom gosto, como local de repouso e reunião familiar, mantendo-se, até hoje, como o esconderijo ideal para momentos íntimos em família.

    Um dos nossos objetivos é permitir que a natureza prospere, praticar uma agricultura regenerativa e biologica, aplicando os principios e designs de Permacultura, intervir o menos possível no meio ambiente de forma orgânica e não prejudicial à natureza.

    Temos todo o gosto e interesse em receber voluntários de curto/médio/longo prazo, mas preferimos médio/longo prazo, para nos ajudar com toda a implementação de Permacultura, desde a horta e fazer composto rápido ou lento, a human manure, a plantar arvores, construir WC secas, vedações, cuidar dos cavalos, galinhas, limpeza do terreno, dos estabulos, da lenha e madeira, corte de arvores mortas, etc etc etc

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    With us you will learn Permaculture design and techniques, how to make hot compost, swales, lakes, natural building, etc...Also if we have workshops ongoing at the time you here you might learn how to make natural soap, different juices/teas, conserve foods, many things.
    We can plan for weekly objectives and then give you a feedback on your help and evolution and you could also give us a feedback on how we can improve ourselves. Life is a constant learning experience ;)

    Our farm is very close to the little village of Melo and in one of the oldest areas of Portugal. Many old villages to visit and plenty of communities and expats coming to the area.
    Plenty of gatherings, little parties, small events and much more you can experience while with us!
    It might also be a good starting point if you want to change life :) and come to this area of Portugal

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with the tasks on our private farm. No help is needed or going to be ask for anything related with business.
    The veggie garden needs so much care, making the compost, preparing the raise beds, installing and improving the watering system, cleaning the chicken coop, cleaning the horse shed, planting veggies, pruning trees....a lot of trees!!!
    Then we also need to prepare the space for the volunteers, make compost toilets, preparing the space for the human manure compost, outdoor showers, resting spaces in the middle of the forest, perhaps even some gathering tippies.
    Then we will have reforestation projects ongoing in the future, hopefully this autumn/winter, planting fire breaker trees, native trees, pioneers and fruit trees and bushes.
    Making swales, preparing fences.....there is so much stuff to do :) you wont be bored for sure :D

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Romanian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have our caravan, with which we travelled for several years in Europe. Full little house, with couple bed, closet, couch, big kitchen with stove and oven, two working desks. Solar panels and batteries in the caravan, but also possibility of connecting to electricity. Until we build a dry toilet/outdoor shower in our forest (were the caravan will be) you will have access to one of the bathrooms in our house.

    If you have your own caravan you are welcome to come, 2 hectares of pine forest for caravans to park :)

    We can help a bit with food from possibly our veggie garden, depends if we have or not :) almond milk, home made sourdough bread and carrob bread, possibly a carrob cake.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Beautiful zone, in 1hour you are on top of the mountain, there are several river beaches in the area, walking tracks, horse tracks, plenty of activities.
    Plenty of local communities to visit, very nice little villages, resorts and spas

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have fantastic high speed internet in the whole house and pool ;) You can stay in the balconies or middle of nature working or inside the very fresh house in the summer or heated house in the winter

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have 2 hectares of Pine forest were you can park your van, and we want to build compost toilets and outdoor showers. We also have our van, in which we travelled for 3 years parked there, so if a couple wants to use its available :)

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    No problem with pets, however with dogs you have to keep them on a leash or make sure he/she is always close to you.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 222911682666