Come and help us in our small organic CSA farm in Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 202 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We are a family of five; Ann (35), Jon (35), Vik (13), Tidemann (5) and Olava (1). We run an organic CSA (community supported agriculture) on our farm and grow over 30 different types of vegetables and berries. In addition to that, we have animals such as sheep, pigs (season), chickens, peacocks and a cat. We are looking for social and independent voulenteers that can help us out on the farm.
    The work will consist of daily routines with tending the animals (feeding, watering, picking eggs), but also related to the CSA, such as working with plants, packing vegetables for sale, general maintenance on the farm, painting, keeping the farm neat and in order. Also sometimes fencing, carpentry, and other needed activities.
    Sometimes we need to work when there is no kindergarden, and with a little one running around, we can need some help attending her. We can always adjust the work to the person voulenteering and the persons skills and qualities. You dont have to be physically strong, though there is some physical work, but nothing more than what a normal person can do. We always have different projects going on and try to develop the farm further. Therefore helping with constructing buildings and carpenting skills is much wanted but not necessary. 

    You will stay in a nice and neat housewagon with kitchen facilities, electricity and shower. There is also a TV with possibilities to watch films and wifi. There is an outdoor toilet outside the wagon, and also a toilet in the barn. There is possibility to wash clothes in our house. 

    We both have jobs outside the farm, 2-3 days a week we will not be at the farm. We are therefore looking for independent people, who are both social, but also who are able to work on their own with given instructions. 

    You are welcome to loan our bikes, although they are a little scrappy, they can get you from A to B. Sometimes if you need a hike we can drive you to places. We will provide all the groceries needed and you can prepare your own meals in the wagon.

    We are a very laidback and social family, although sometimes as we have so many people coming in and out on our farm on a daily basis, we sometimes need to be just our little family. But feel free to use our garden and grill, and we are very happy to share meals with you whenever we are making a barbecue outside, which is quite often.  

    Looking forward to meet you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can have conversations in different languages. It is also a great opportunity to learn more about farming with vegetables and animals in an organic way.

  • Help

    Help

    We can adjust the work to the person, but the day to day job is mainly tending animals (pigs, sheep, chicken), and working with vegetables (weeding, planting, harvesting).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A small cabin/housewagon with a doublebed and kitchen with all necessary utensils to make own food. We provide you with the food needed. You need to be independent and prepared to do most of your own cooking yourself. But we can cook together and share meals occasionally. There is bathroom in the cabin with shower, and an outdoor toilet. Washing machine is possible to use in house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The farm is located near to the forest with great hiking possibilities, and 5 minutes drive to several beaches. Its close to other cities, and only 50 minutes from Oslo. The Train and bus station to other cities are nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The visitors will have their own wagon with wifi

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    A lot of space. We live on a farm

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 222654454724