Help with gardening and building at an eco-village in Glandwr, west Wales, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 156 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we're a family of three Melissa, Matthew, Maia who live in the Ecovillage in West Wales, UK. We have a small-holding with a productive garden and polytunnel, and a cat called Pepper. We live in a strawbale house that was hand built by Matthew, my husband. We are currently involved in Summer jobs - looking after the garden and soon we will be harvesting the black currants and blueberries. We grow seed for a local seed company. I am also a bee keeper. We are looking for help with the garden and possibly some woodwork. People with previous carpentry experience is a plus.

    We are part of an of eco-village of nine households, many of whom have volunteers too.

    The area is very beautiful, with quiet days and starry nights.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are part of an ecovillage which has a wide variety of eco builds and plots in various stages of completion . There are also other volunteers in the summer time on the other plots, as well as at our surrounding neighbours. You'll learn about organic agriculture, eco building and low impact lifestyle.

  • Help

    Help

    We're looking for a volunteer who is keen, able to listen and happy to work on their own.

    We looking for help with tree planting, willow harvesting (for basket making) and preparing beds.
    We need help with the garden and the land in general so previous experience in organic gardening would be helpful. I am also designing and creating a circular pharmacy garden.

    We both have offsite jobs, so would be looking for help 3-4 days a week.

    We ask that after a week we do a check in to make sure that you're happy and we're happy. We can then negotiate a longer term stay.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a volunteer touring caravan to stay in. This has a gas ring cooker and wood burner. We are off grid and there is electricity in the caravan, although only for low wattage useage - charging phones, lights etc. There is a compost toilet and spring water a short distance away.
    We provide basic food and ask that you cook for yourself in the caravan. On the days where we work together, we'll share lunch.You can help yourself to the surplus garden produce. There is also a small shop on site for dry goods and essentials like chocolate! We don’t switch on WiFi so you would need to hotspot off your mobile data for internet connection.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are near to the Preselli mountains which have lots of walks - it's where the inner ring of Stonehenge stones come from.There is lots of local history including stone circles and neolithic burial chambers. And beautiful beaches. We are not on a transport route, however we can run you up the hill to catch the local bus. The nearest town is Crymych which has a small selection of shops (including a good whole food shop and butcher), a leisure centre and library. The nearest train is Clunderwen, about 20 min drive from us.

    We have had lots of volunteers over the years and have been really grateful for the help. We value our family time and space. We ask that you are pretty self contained and happy with your own company.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a field so space isn’t an issue. If you have you own accommodation that would be a plus. There is a touring caravan to use if you don’t.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 3-4 days per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 222496811471