Join our family on an off-grid, secluded property in British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/05/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on an off grid, secluded property of old growth forest and natural hay meadow with a small private lake. We're here with our two girls, 8 and 11, who we homeschool, 2 dogs, laying hens, and a small flock of sheep, and my mother in law lives at the other end of the property. Sometimes we raise pigs and meat birds as well. We garden veggies, berries and herbs. Our kids love to connect with others, and appreciate visitors, and learning about other cultures, and I love to share ideas and projects. There is also an operating bandsaw mill on the property that my husband runs. We believe in finding ways to make it viable to live and work from our property, and appreciate other's ideas and help to make that possible.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    While staying with us you will have many opportunities to explore the Canadian wilderness, and when the season is right, we can go on walks to identify and collect wild edible plants. There are nearby lakes and waterfalls to explore, and opportunities to interact with other locals through lunch and dinner dates with friends in the area.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with many aspects of dismantling, cleaning up and rebuilding our garden, clearing fence lines and building fences, possibly some odd building jobs, and feeding the sheep. Help with harvesting and preserving garden produce, when in season, and helping with meals and clean up is needed, as well as foraging for wild plants for my tea blends. There is need for weeding and pruning too. If you speak Spanish, we would love to learn a little more and practice with you, but speaking Spanish is not a requirement to stay here. Child care is not necessary, but our girls love to interact with new people.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a travel trailer with multiple beds in it that is available, or if you prefer, we can set up a large tent. There is no running water or electricity in the trailer. There is a shared outhouse. Our home has running hot water for washing up, with a bathroom for showers. We try to conserve water, so showering will be limited to every 2-3 days. All meals will be prepared and shared within our home. I cook vegetarian and non vegetarian, mostly organic food, and have experience cooking for those who are gluten intolerant and celiac. It is possible to set the trailer up with propane if morning coffee/tea in the trailer is desired, otherwise we'll provide that in the house. Any special snacks or drinks that you want will be at your own expense. We go to the grocery store once a week. Wifi is available every evening, and sometimes in the morning, but is not available all day/night long.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a lot of hiking and exploring in the area, and we have a canoe and kayaks for paddling our lake. There is a local farmer's market in Horsefly (16kms) to check out once a week, and another in Williams Lake (75kms) as well as opportunities to see concerts and a local festival in July. There is no local public transit, so if you don't have a rental vehicle, you will be dependant on us taking you places. You are welcome to spend quiet time in the trailer, or in our home, when you're not working.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hour/day, 5 days/week

Host ref number: 222198433636