Help my eldest son to practice Spanish in Ipswich, Suffolk, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    55.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My wife and I are both British, we're both 34 and we live with our three sons (the oldest is four years old and the twins are six months) in a Victorian terraced house in Ipswich, Suffolk. It's quite a nice area - walkable to the town centre, near a bus stop, there's a park and a little library two or three minutes walk away. Ipswich itself is a pleasant, quiet little English town. There are nice beaches, rivers and countryside nearby.

    We lived abroad for just under six years, teaching English as a foreign language in China, Vietnam and Saudi Arabia, I finished my UK teacher training last year and I've just started a masters degree. My wife is on maternity leave at the moment .

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My mum used to host foreign students when I was a child, and I worked abroad for several years, so I really like mixing with other cultures.

    I'd be happy to share my interests in cooking, literature, canoeing, and walking.

    Although I don't want to give actual English lessons I'd be happy to provide informal corrections and input if you were interested in improving your English.

  • Help

    Help

    What I'm interested in is primarily someone for my oldest son to practice Spanish with. We've been learning together but it would be really nice to have someone for him to hang out with who could speak Spanish to him while playing. He's keen to learn.

    My wife is on maternity leave at the moment, so we're not looking for someone to look after the twins, unless you particularly like babies.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English (both of us), Cantonese (wife only)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom for your sole use. You would share the rest of the house (ie - bathroom, living room, kitchen, dining room) with us.

    I would like us all to eat together most of the time, although I understand that everyone wants a bit of privacy from time to time. I enjoy cooking and am reasonably good at it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have bicycles that you could borrow. I would be willing to discuss allowing you to use one of our cars.

    Ipswich has the usual small-town amenities: cinema, decent restaurants, theatre, swimming pool, an interesting range of shops, etc.

    There is a train station with direct trains to London, Norwich and Cambridge. It takes just under two hours by either train or car to get to London, about an hour to Cambridge.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    About fifteen hours a week.

Host ref number: 218234347363