Help with strawbale construction and begin a permaculture garden in Yggdrasil, West Wales, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi we a family of four, mum (that's me, Stacey) , dad( Mike) son and daughter. We sold up and moved to West Wales, the land of rainbows and waterfalls! To build our dream home. We have an acre and a half which will be a food forest one day. We have chickens, a cat, a dog, some rats and a hamster, and Guinea pigs.
    Mike is building our home, whilst I work full time. Our home is an eco hybrid! Strawbale construction, in keeping with the semi rural village. Come and help us to finish lime rendering the Strawbale walls, install a Reed bed and begin a permaculture garden

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are building an eco home with Strawbale construction. Grey water will be going into a Reed bed, and our blank canvas garden will be a permaculture/ food forest.
    Right now is a great opportunity to learn about lime rendering Strawbale walls and the early stages of a perma culture garden,in the Welsh climate.

  • Help

    Help

    Right now we need help lime rendering the Strawbale walls.
    Mike has been building for a year now as well as doing the laundry, walking the dog and assisting our two home educated kids with their interests. Im working full time, walking the dog, cooking cleaning and shopping.
    Help with the build and garden would be great, but help with all of it would be just as brilliant.
    We'd be grateful for help from 10-2, 5 days a week.
    Single, couple, or a family with preteens would be awesome

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Camping, Bell tent with wood burner and double ring gas stove provided. Bathroom facilities in the static caravan shared with us.
    Meals included, dietary requirements easily catered for.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a beautiful part of Wales. We are conveniently located in a semi rural village with a couple of little shops, two pubs and on the main bus route from Carmarthen to Aberystwyth. We are near to many castles, the coastal path, beaches, Brechfa forest and more...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 217398288393