Join a family in a Dorset town near the sea and help with general family life, veg growing and wood chopping and explore the Jurrassic Coast, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a happy family living in Bridport, on the Jurassic Coast in Dorset in SW England. We enjoy hosting enthusiastic, inspiring people who like the outdoors and countryside, sea swimming, art. We are looking for help with general family life, cooking, organic gardening, wood chopping, a building project, and joining in our varied activities and hobbies.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a beautiful part of England, in a small town with a strong a diverse community, and have lived here for 12 years, so know many people. It is on the 'Jurassic Coast', and our house is just under 3 miles from the beach. We are surrounded by beautiful countryside.

    I am well-traveled and have spent many years living in Africa, Asia and Europe. We are involved in many activities here including climbing, acting, swimming, gym, storytelling, and music. We also spend much of the summer at festivals where we work as a family: there may be opportunities to come to some of these too.

    Bridport has a lively artistic scene, with lots of artists, theatre and music. I am very happy to help with English.

  • Help

    Help

    We enjoy welcoming people to our spacious home: we love interesting, inspiring, thoughtful individuals who can bring practical help and enthusiasm to our home, garden and lives.

    I am an OK cook, enjoy looking after the children, am a keen organic vegetable gardener, and have lots of interests mainly outdoors-related like walking, climbing, cycling and small festivals.

    Help and enthusiasm is always welcome, including:
    - cooking meals and generally being a considerate houseguest,
    - helping the children in their activities be it homework, art projects, going for a walk / cycle with them, and helping us practice our French. I speak reasonable French, the children are keen beginners.
    - We have a large garden and there's always lovely work to do in it including pruning, fencing, planting, hedges, harvesting and sowing of organic veg.
    - We heat mainly with wood, so there's wood chopping to be done (one of my favourite jobs).
    - We are working on a beautiful old stone outbuilding and can always use help with this - including basic carpentry, electrics.

    Some work would be with me, some with the children, and some independently. Coming here suits quite independent people who enjoy working with others as well as spending some time on their own.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Intermediate French, Hindi & Indonesian.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a comfortable, warm, spacious 4 bedroom house with a cosy woodburner. Workaways have their own double room, and we all share 2 bathrooms. We tend to eat breakfast and supper together (apart from on a Friday night: Pizza TV night!). I tend to cook fairly healthy food, including some meat and fish but also a lot of vegetarian food. Help with cooking is ALWAYS welcome as I get quite tired of cooking.

    The house is a 15 minute walk next to a river to the centre of Bridport. I am sometimes at work during weekdays until 3pm when I get the children from school.

    I am widowed; my wife/ the children's Mum died 7 years ago and I am bringing up the children on my own. We are a very happy family, just the three of us. We more than cope - we thrive :) - but some additional energy in the home is always very welcomed and single-parenthood is quite busy!

    We are all pretty sociable but also enjoy quiet. We don't watch a lot of TV. We usually have an hour of quiet in the afternoons for a sleep or reading etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off we can help link you up with other local people, and help you find ways for you to get involved in things which interest you. There are many local sights for those who enjoy coastal and country walking, and we also get out and explore in Dorset and Devon often. The larger towns of Exeter and Bristol are 1 and 2 hours away. We also travel as a family to London regularly where my parents live, and workaways could join us on those trips if they wanted.

    NOTE, this is a small RURAL small town, so there is not the excitement and buzz of a large city, nor quick transport connections to other cities. So this would most suit someone who is self-sufficient and independent, and also enjoys some of their own company, as during school hours (9-4 M- F) there will be soem time alone and some time working with just me.

    We are a non-smoking family, we don't watch much TV, I meditate daily. We would want you to feel really relaxed in our home, and are happy to share communal spaces, though sometimes we will need our personal space. We are all pretty good at saying what we want and need, and to listening to others.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 216215277953