New Organic Project up hill from Bonda in the sierra nevada, needs some helping hands, Santa Marta Colombia

Country

Colombia

updated  

Favourited 766 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1435

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    New Organic Project acquired 100 + Hectars up hill from Bonda between 450m and 1300m in the sierra nevada de Santa Marta with stunning landscapes and views. The Land has cattle, Certified organic Coffee, Avocados, citrus fruits, lots of exotic fruits and tons of natural mineral water to drink and bathe!
    The Place is managed by a Colombian-Swiss biologist with a deep passion for Nature , nutrition and health.

    Bonda offers like Minca beautiful landscapes and rivers from the sierra, Bonda is a couple of kilometers further north; but its not touristic.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    - Enjoy the majestic and unique sierra nevada from within
    - Interchange whit the other volunteers and the local farm workers.
    - Enjoy the nature, pure water and the food it provides
    - learning about coffee farming, processing and roasting
    - learning about farming and permaculture in general
    - Be part of a great project that seeks to transform agriculture involving ecological and social local tissues
    - Balance your carbon footprint by reforesting:)

  • Help

    Help

    We just received the place so we need a lot of help, specially with the coffee crop starting now!
    We need experienced builders and carpenters to build bunk beds for the volunteers and drying wracks for the coffee out of bamboo and wood.

    We also need help in the kitchen.

    General Maintenance (Organizing, cleaning, painting etc)
    Building and learn how build whit the diferent materials.
    Food farming
    Coffee farming
    Coffee plucking
    An exel fairy to help us organize, transcribe and build databases
    A web developer crack to finish our web page

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish English German Swissgerman

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The houses are old and rudimentary and need lots of work and love! You need to be physically fit to work in the fields and around the house. The terrain is steep and broken. We have lots of bugs so be prepared:)
    For the moment we have a big dormitory in the main house with bunk beds (Coming) single mattresses mosquito nets, a bathroom only for volunteers and a kitchenette.
    We provide simple but tasty colombian meals and eat together with local workers trying to accommodate to their customs and rhythm.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The land it self provides enough walks and swims in the river, wild life spoting, mule rides and off road adventures!
    You are only 20km from the main road going to Tayrona-Guajira (north) where you have beautiful beaches and Santa Marta-cartagena (south) mototaxi to get there from Bonda is 15000col (around 4us)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 214657782331