Volunteers to help around our original farmhouse in Apollo Bay, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 46 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My partner and I live in the hills overlooking the seaside town of Apollo Bay and the Southern Ocean near The Great Ocean Road in Victoria.

    We live in one of the original farmhouses of the area with the Otway National Park at one end of our road and the ocean at the other end. We have a large garden with meandering paths among tree ferns and a large vegetable garden.

    There is a lot to see in the area, glow worms at night, walking trails, lots of wild life and beaches. If you don't have your own transport we can take you to see some of the sights. Deb is an English teacher and happy to help with learning English if you wish. We have travelled a lot ourselves and love meeting other travellers to swap stories with over a glass of wine and some good food. Deb is a very good cook and Rusty can fix just about anything so come along for a visit and help us with the million and one tasks we always seem to have.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers can improve their English if needed. You will be one of the family and go visiting with us to friends' places so you will get to meet a number of Australians instead of just travellers. We have a great deal of experience travelling in different countries and lived on sailing boats for a number of years in the Pacific and love swapping travelling stories. Rusty can help with all things mechanical and Deb may be able to teach you a few recipes, particularly Asian food.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for volunteers who can help us with all the jobs we do around the place, such as gardening, wood collection, painting, cleaning, maybe building if you have the skills.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have had many volunteers over the years from different countries and have made some lifelong friends. We have a relaxed lifestyle and hope that volunteers will feel at home and be part of the family.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 485443488782