Looking for helpers on our off-grid eco retreat in the beautiful Bay of Plenty

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 123 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/08/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    356

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Nestled in the hills behind Ohiwa Harbour in the eastern Bay of Plenty is our little piece of paradise. We are a couple with a young daughter and we are creating an off-grid, permaculture lifestyle. We currently have building projects that we need a hand with, including painting, and finishing our new tiny house. We also have loads of other projects on the go such as earth building, finishing the pizza oven, gardening, tree planting, boat maintenance and much more! We have a strong interest in conservation and are re-establishing native forest on our land as well as growing an edible forest garden. We look forward to sharing our experience and lifestyle with you in exchange for some help with our projects!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We both work in conservation based jobs and are able to share what we know about New Zealand ecology and biodiversity. Our piece of land overlooks a valley of native bush where you can hear kiwi call at night and see lots of bird life during the day. If you are staying while the weather is good we can also take you surfing or stand-up paddleboarding at beautiful Ohope Beach, kayaking on the Ohiwa Harbour or take you for a walk through one of the many reserves that we live near. We are lucky to have an amazing climate here so come and make the most of the sunshine!

  • Help

    Help

    We constantly have a range of different projects on the go but our biggest focus at the moment is finishing the tiny house that we live in, landscaping and gardening, building the pizza oven and planting trees. We will work with you as much as possible to share our knowledge and experience and hopefully be able to learn some things from you too!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have an old railway services bus that we use for the kitchen, shower and spare bedroom. There is a double bed set up in here. We are happy to provide food if you help for 5 hours per day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live 20 mins drive from Whakatane and Opotiki and are able to pick you up and drop you off at either of these towns. Ohope beach (Nz's best beach!!) is just 10 minutes away and is a great place to relax. Whakatane is famous for being the gateway to White Island, NZ's most active volcano which you can explore on a day trip. Predator free Moutohora (Whale Island) is also worth checking out.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days





Host ref number: 199826335987