Come and enjoy helping with our horses near Helensville, New Zealand

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are welcoming some help on the property.
    Work includes looking after our horses, gardening, house keeping or special tasks and the seasonal upkeep of our property. You are not expected to be helping with any business activities here.

    Our family is constantly fluctuating with both people - dogs, cats, and horses.
    We are very social with lots of music, food and the arts, conversation is always flowing.

    Keeping track of the house and the upkeep is a big job. So it is expected that we all take care of the home we offer.
    Its a house that just absorbs the coming and goings and takes a team to keep it fresh and organised.

    We look forward to positive energetic individuals who enjoy life and being a part of what ever is going on.
    If you are handling horses - experience with the care of these animals is essential.

    With horse care it is a 7 day a week job (not 5 days on and 2 days off). But as we have 3 or more helpers at a time it allows helpers take time off for a few days at a time, with the longer term helpers having the use of a vehicle for trips away.

    Coming to our yard does not necessarily mean you will be riding horses, this is dependant on your ability and the horses we have here at the time.

    Helpers usually settle easily. We offer an option to stay on longer as many often stay for a few months or even a year in a some cases.

    Contact us if you don't mind a busy family with get up and go that is very inclusive with our helpers.
    Look forward to hearing from you.

    Andrew and Jane

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a very busy with horses and always have people and staying at the house, lots of fun meeting with people of all ages. It can be busy and full of activity.

  • Help

    Help

    Our family.
    We are a family of two parents and 3 sons.
    We have horses, chickens, cats, dogs, ducks and bees.
    We have a minimum age of 20 years old.

    Our expectations are for initial stay of 1 week and then if we are cool with the arrangement we will invite you to stay longer which usually happens because we are generally very happy with all our helpers.

    The help is varied from horse care, to gardening and domestic help.

    We expect a contribution of 4/5 hours help per day . You might do a full day and then head out the next exploring the next, we are flexible.

    Within the home we ask for a polite & tidy attitude with respect for our home and property.
    Inclusion as a member of the family. If we go out somewhere we will invite you to come with us if it is appropriate.

    If you are interested to meet us - get in touch with us.
    We are easy to get to from the city.
    Look forward to meeting you.

    Jane and Andrew

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our accomodation is a double bed in the house or two single beds or we have a self contained horse truck. The truck is very comfortable with a kitchen, lighting and music etc... and it has a double bed.

    We provide a varied diet and enjoy food and coffee together.
    Helpers can assist with preparation and it can be collaborative.
    We eat together as a family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our property is situated 4 mins from Helensville. It is a beautiful spot with a mandarin orchard. The beach and the forest is just up the road. Close by are the Parakai Thermal Pools and the small town of Helensville. Mountain biking, swimming, walks and sky diving are all within a short drive.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 337282613664

Feedback (17)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




























Join our friendly, eco-conscious family and help around our lifestyle property near Auckland, New Zealand
Surf, hike and experience small town living whilst helping out a young family in Raglan New Zealand