Have fun and help at our home :) in Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 68 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/12/2018

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, thanks everyone for your messages and sorry i have not been online to reply in a verrrrry long time.

    My circumstances have changed hugely and i am not in a position to be a good host nor do i require any help at this time and for the foreseeable future.
    I have started a new business and i simply have no time for other things like showing you around or even feeding you, haha!

    If anyone finds them self in a big problem, they can stay with me short term as an emergency bed/host but i can't support you long term, also i won't have time to stay with you, etc.
    Beware no internet or phone and really REALLY in the middle of nowhere. (i say, very peaceful ;) ) so it's only really suited to you if you have difficulties with your travel, health etc and need a pit stop.

    If this is the case please messages IN CAPS LOCKS so i see your S.O.S in my email easy!!

    Otherwise safe journeys and good luck everyone

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Improve your Language, swap yours for ours!

    Different foods!

    Expand your vision and grow your self :)

  • Help

    Help

    The house is small so we ask for one person at a time please, maybe two if you are best friends!!

    It's not such hard work (except clearing and digging the field drains) so if you are used to the outdoors it will be easy for you and when I am home I will help with the difficult stuff like clearing the brambles.

    Mostly it would actually be hanging out with the dog when we are out.
    You are welcome to go walking with her or to stay home and work on the land, tidy the house, etc.
    We will do our best to give you things you prefer to do :)

    We try to eat organic produce or local food but we are not hard and fast about this and there is room for a treat now and then.
    Food is vegetarian and vegans I can do my best to cook for you! :)
    When you go out then you can eat whatever you like but please don't cook meat in the house.

    I am attending an organic centre, it's the basis of organic culture in Ireland - if this interests you let me know, you may be able to spend some time there if you wish.

    Please NO SMOKERS AT ALL - You are not welcome (the smell gives me a headache) and I don't wish to offend you so please don't apply.
    Also NO DRUGS OF ANY KIND.
    We don't drink much either, maybe a glass of wine in the evening on a special occasion so please also no heavy drinkers.

    We have horses (At the moment there is just one irish cob, but we are looking for another horse) they won't be part of the volunteering tasks and are not kept at the house but if you are keen to learn about them or have experience with horses already then we can definitely chat about you being with them in your free time if you come with us to the stables :)

    Please be aware before you come that the area is rural, if you are a Facebook fanatic or need people everyday this IS NOT the place for you. There is very limited public transport and it isn't always possible to give you lifts but we do our best.
    I (Syd) work a lot as well as my studies, so when Betsy is away travelling, i won't have masses of time to spend together - gardening season is flat out for me! :) but of course you have the dog for company and me when i am there!!
    I think this isn't a place for younger people unless you are content to be with yourself but it's your choice - please consider though if it perhaps doesn't suit you that it's best not to come :) :)

    Please also note, we are young women living here.
    We are friendly and outgoing but have firm boundaries regarding privacy and personal space.
    Whilst we welcome males as well as females we politely request that everyone respects this.
    Thanks for your understanding :)

    Honestly, we want you to have an experience that improves, changes and grows you as a person - we also want this for ourselves so come with a friendly face, an open heart and mind and let Life do the rest!!

    This existence is a journey; where you go depends on the path you make for yourself!!!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a tiny bit of French, a couple of words of Arabic

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a small cottage but you will have your own room when possible.
    It's just a two bed so we will share a room and you can have one of ours so there will be some of our things in it. But most importantly it's a cosy house so relax and feel at home please!!

    There is a shower, plenty of hot water to soothe muscles after a days work or a long walk :)

    We also have oil fired heating and a wood stove in the sitting room so you won't be cold!!
    At times you might stay in here on a pull out bed depending on the duration of ur stay - we watch a movie in the evening sometime but will always vacate early so you can sleep!!

    It's nice to keep the house tidy and clean so we kindly ask you to be aware of your surroundings and contribute to this way.

    There is no signal or internet in the house (currently, this may change) but if you walk up the road a few hundred metres then it's possible to get mobile internet coverage and phone service.
    There is also a cafe with wifi and a computer to use in Kinlough, a 15min drive, we can provide a lift sometimes or hitching is quite safe here if you dont mind the rain and narrow roads!?

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's lots to do here in terms of nature and rural living.
    We are well situated for a choice of towns to visit etc but there's a much less than extensive public transport system so you will need to rely on your thumb or feet!
    I'm happy to give lifts or guided tours when I can but I will be studying Monday to Friday nine til five.
    However on Weekends im happy for us to go out and about... We can visit a farmers market or go to the sea cliffs, waterfall walk etc.

    I'm sure there's lots that I gave left out from the profile. I have kept it quite general as we hope to have a good communication with potential in advance of agreeing to have anyone.
    This way we can be sure to provide you with what you want as best we can and it's more benefical for both host and volunteer to talk about plans and dreams before meeting!

    Google BenBulben, Slieve League -the highest seacliffs in Europe, Fowey Falls etc to get an idea of the scenic amenities in our wonderful area :)

    Hope to talk soon!!
    Take care :) :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    It varies day to day but always fair for you!! max 25 hours a week

Taste the rainbow!
We can go exploring off the beaten track on days off ;)
These egg makers might make a comeback one day, can you help us build a house!?
Hairy Irish Cobs!
Ride and Drive!
Host ref number: 199769333135