Garden help surrounded by vineyards in rural Gers, Midi Pyrenees, France

Country

France

Favourited 192 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/12/2019

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Caroline and I run a small bed and breakfast in the heart of the Gers, in sunny SW France with my partner Jean-Pierre. We are surrounded by vineyards and amazing scenery. Although we have been a host for many years, we haven't needed any help recently. We are now looking for help in December, esp over the Christmas period and in February.

    The area is very rural so your own transport or a current driving licence would be a great advantage. The village has shops, bar, and a swimming pool , all within a short walking distance.

    My B&B guests are mainly french with the occasional British, Dutch and Spanish guest.

    We also have three dogs and varying numbers of chickens and Clara, a free range pot bellied pig.

    Ideally, you should have at least a basic grasp of french or be keen to learn it as you will be surrounded by french and few of the locals here speak English.

    I am looking for two people to help around the house in December. Ideally the 19th through to the 29th, but we are also looking for help in February/ March. Please note that the help we are looking for is NOT connected with the B&B, but for general help with the house and more importantly the animals.

    For the period 6th - 14th Jan I need some help to look after the house, the dogs and Jean Pierre as I need to go back to the UK for a week. Tasks include looking after the menagerie and walking the dogs, a bit of housework and sorting out the garden. There usually some painting, and weather permitting, outdoor work, to keep you occupied as well!

    Vegetarians are more than welcome, but be aware that both Jean Pierre and I are meat eaters. Also, finding vegetarian food in restaurants here is almost impossible unless you like lardon ommlettes ! (don't ask! ) .

    Thank you for looking and I look forward to hearing from you !!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The language in the house is french and Jean Pierre speaks very little english, so it's a great chance to try out your language skills. He is is very patient though!! There is also the opportunity to visit the local vineyards several of which are within walking distance of us. There are great walks/ cycle routes around the village

  • Help

    Help

    A driving licence is a great advantage.

    Ongoing projects vary with the time of year and may include painting , gardening, cleaning etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Normally a guest room ( twin) with ensuite shower.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    A great location and plenty of opportunity to practice your french and experience the local culture.

    If you have your own transport, there is lots to do on days off from walking / cycling around the stunning countryside, to visiting the local cities of Pau and Tarbes and going to the local fetes including Jazz in Marciac or watching the racing at Nogaro race circuit.

    A car is not essential if you want to stay local on your days off, but please note, it is a rural area with no bus service. There are shops and a bar in the village, but the nearest bus stop to get into larger towns is 10km away. I am happy to drop you off/collect you from the nearest bus stop ( Riscle/ Garlin etc) and you may be able to use one of our cars, depending on your age/ driving licence.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 -5 hours but can be flexible



Host ref number: 19962657124a