A bi-cultural family looking for some help around the home and garden in Devon, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    58.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I are retired, and live in our private detached house in South West Devon. I am the sole carer of my husband, Martti, a Finnish national, who has been severely brain damaged for 30 years, and now has Frontal Temporal dementia. He is very gentle, prefers to rest most of the day and is now limited with his communication, and very dependent on me.
    As I am now quite housebound with him, I am in need of an extra pair of hands for domestic duties, cooking, gardening, cleaning etc..
    I have a married daughter living within 10 miles, 3 grandchildren, 2 of which attend a local grammar school.
    I also have an adult son, presently living in Finland, where we have a second home.
    I am myself, a keen gardener and hope to continue to care for our large garden, and with any helper's agreement, on occasion, be in the garden during the time the helper was inside, knowing I am close at hand or on call.

    It is also my intention to have additional outside help as and when needed, to be responsible for the caring of my husband during such times when I need to be away from home for a few hours for attending church, shopping or personal hobbies. I would not expect this to be the responsibility of someone from workaway.

    However, if anyone reading this, is able and willing to fulfill additional assistance in caring for my husband on occasion, I would be happy to negotiate renumeration for this extra responsibility.

    We live close to the sea, and this part of the UK is very beautiful, and popular for tourists. We live on a public service bus route, the closest town, Paignton, has a National Railway Service, and is approximately 4 kilometres from our house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Elderly Companionship
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Devon is a beautiful and sought out area of the United Kingdom.
    We are, as a family, bi-cultural, having lived and worked in both Finland and the United Kingdom. We have continued to have strong contacts and interactive lives between the two and are totally an Anglo/Finnish family.
    We are active Christians in our lives and community, and hope visitors to our home would respect that.

  • Help

    Help

    As I have explained above, I am my husband's full time carer and am limited with my own activity schedule and household management.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two double bedrooms upstairs, so one private bedroom would be available (this has a small wash basin in situ.
    Downstairs we have spacious living accommodation, and one of the rooms, presently my work room, could be adapted as a bedroom if someone would prefer to be downstairs.
    We have a small but functional kitchen, dining room, and living room. A small garden/sitting room overlooking the garden which is off of the living room.
    We have a large entrance hall and a utility room with access to the back garden at the back of the house. There is also a second WC.
    The front garden is large, with a forecourt for 3 vehicles. Also a double garage but at present, this is used for storage.
    In the back garden we have a small Cabin, built on the standard and style of a Finnish lakeside cabin, which has a small sitting room and separate sauna (wood heated).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are on the local bus route and the nearest town, Paignton is 4 kms away where there is the bus station and the National Railway Station with regular services all over the country. The centre has normal shopping and service facilities for a town including a large cinema, restaurants, Swimming Pool and Gym, hotels, guest houses, a zoo and coastal access routes. Keen cyclists are able to use the standard cycle routes and roads for personal travel.
    Torquay, some 7 kms away, is larger, with more of the above facilities, including a large Theatre, a sporting complex, cinema house, and larger hotels.
    Coming back to our own location, this is an area undergoing substantial re-development. Over the past 5 years, the change has been significant, bringing additional housing, large shopping facilities and the expansion of South Devon College, which works in association with the University of Plymouth and other services and amenities. These are all within 5 minutes walking distance of our house. There is also a golf range and our local beach; Goodrington Sands walking distance from the house.
    Those with interest in cultural heritage and National Trust sites, Agatha Christie's summer home is close by. Other places of interest that are very near include Dartmouth, Totnes, Dartmoor National Park, various gardens such as Collaton Fishacre and a number of small castles and a Steam Railway joining Paignton with Dartmouth. Though South Devon has a reasonable swell at times, North Devon approx a 2-hour drive away boasts excellent beaches for surfing all year round.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 198678166992