Learn countryside skills with our family and explore North Norfolk, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 57 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/12/2021

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Lovely small family holding/farm in North Norfolk. We are on the edge of the most glorious heathland and woodland, with miles of walks/trails to explore. The area is a designated SSSI ( site of special scientific interest).
    Accommodation and food offered in return for help Around the house/ farm and with projects. Double room, use of bathroom, separate lounge if required. WiFi etc .
    Usually just a few hours (4-5) help on weekdays, with plenty of time for you to explore the delights of North Norfolk.
    I can provide a bicycle. There are buses from the village for you to get to the coast or into Norwich.
    It would be good if you are physically strong, happy to help outside and are familiar with general maintenance- fence mending, strimming, weeding, lawn mowing, growing veg. Etc But I am also happy to teach some skills.
    Friendly home, rustic farmhouse, animals kept - horses, dogs, cat, chickens!
    I live here and brought up my family here! Two daughters - one away at Uni, the other stays here some of the time.

    If you have your own camper van, even better, we have plenty of space for you, and can supply electric hook up.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can help you with your English!
    If you don’t have any gardening skills I can teach you about plants and growing veg. Using a strimmer and ride on Mower
    I can also teach you about the countryside. Show you some countryside skills.
    We can walk on the extensive heathland, and forage first mushrooms in the autumn.

  • Help

    Help

    General help. Garden, paddocks, animals.
    Strimming, mowing, fixing, mending.
    Workshop and tools provided.
    You could fix or mend your camper van if needed!
    Help in the veggie garden and with the chickens. We eat our own produce!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I speak English as my first Language. But I can also speak a little German and a little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double room & bathroom. Use of lounge if wanted. Outside space, patio etc
    WiFi

    I will provide food, but you are welcome to help with the cooking.
    Any meals you chose to eat out , these are your own cost. But you eat in the house for free.
    For the summer months it would be ideal if you had your own RV or campervan, as I can provide space to park it and electric hook up.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I can provide a bicycle.
    Plenty to do and see on the North Norfolk coast

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have reasonable internet for connecting for work.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    You can bring your own camper van if you like. Plenty of space around the farm to park it!

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    well behaved dogs can be accepted

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 197984111147