Looking for help with restorations of my house and garden Bordeaux, France




Favourited 142 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    I am Patrick, a retired anthropologist and recently I bought a house near Bordeaux in a nice city ( Castillon la Bataille) in the middle of the vineyard, 15 km from Saint Émilion. The house is very beautiful but needs some work. I've two daughters and four grandchildren, but most of the time I live alone. My wife is Brazilian and works in her country.
    I like to travel around. Since my retirement from the university I have devoted a lot of time to the renovation of the house, but also to the cut of gemstones that I discovered in Brazil where I worked during more than 5 years. So I travel for family and business reasons when I go to buy stones where they are extracted. It allows me to meet and pay the miners, not the intermediaries.
    I spend the beginning of the year in Brazil and went back home around April 15. When I bought the house, the garden was empty and I planted fruit trees and flowers and made a small pond in the garden that is fed by the well water. This year I'd like to continue the garden and to paint the windows. The work depends on the skills of the workawayers. There is nothing very technical but the presence of people I can exchange with on multiple topics makes the life richer. I prefer the help of a couple.
    There are the permanent activities that are also good to share such as meeting winegrowers and tasting the wines of the region, cooking, visiting the surroundings that are rich in very interesting sites. I could also initiate interested workawayers to gemstone cutting. i want to make it clear that I am committed to the principles of workaway based on cultural and service exchange. I consider the workawayers above all as friends to whom I offer the best conditions of hospitality in exchange for their help.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It's a good place to visit the region which is rich in ancient cities and prehistoric sites. I love travelling and we can talk about our expériences.

    Castillon la bataille where i'm living is in the middle of bordeaux vineyard and very close to saint Émilion.

  • Help


    I'm looking for help in mansonry, electricity, painting and gardening. All kind of skills in maintenance would be appreciate.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    In the house there are 5 bedrooms and two bathrooms. Every workawayer has his private bedroom. I love cooking, I'm not VG.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a railway station in Castillon (Bordeaux-Sarlat line) but at the right time te train between Bergerac and Libourne is replaced by a bus.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 197138891552