Animal rescue and organic smallholding in the Lake District, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 626 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/11/2021

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our 16 acre organic smallholding is right on the outskirts of the English Lake District National Park, a couple of miles from the sea (Solway Firth) and 25 miles from the Scottish Border.

    We have a menagerie of rescue animals that have arrived on our doorstep over the years, including llamas, emus, pigs, peacocks, chickens, guinea fowl,sheep, geese and horses. Our land comprises of a mixture of fields and woodland with a stream running through it.

    Andrew and I both have our own full-time businesses:(please ask for our Websites if interested.) and due to increased work commitments and some extensive building work and Eco projects that we have recently taken on board, an extra pair of hands or two would be fabulous in exchange for great hospitality in a wonderful setting!

    We are really looking for people that are a capable of working on their own initiative, don't mind a lot of manual tasks and are happy helping outdoors in all weather!
    Not for the "faint hearted"!!!!

    Anyone with general building experience will be particularly appreciated!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    If you are able to help with the following jobs we would be delighted to hear from you:

    Help with general building/maintenance (inside and out).

    Gardening (we have a commercial size poly-tunnel where we are attempting to grow all our own fruit and veg).

    Woodland and orchard maintenance, tree and willow planting.

    General farming including fencing, pond maintenance and cutting fire wood.

    General animal care

    Vehicle repair/maintenance

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Caravans (which we can provide). Plenty of camping space for camper vans or tents. Room in house when the building work is finished!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would love to hear from individuals, couples or friends of any ages, and are completely flexible over timescales.

    We are delighted to cater for any dietary requirements!

    There is a good local bus service in the village our smallholding is on the outskirts of and a train service approx. 4 miles away. Keswick is 14 miles away and Carlisle 25 miles.

    We are both keen outdoor enthusiasts, particularly mountain biking, mountaineering, most water sports and paragliding, all of which are on our/your doorstep!
    You would have the use of mountain bikes (and other possible equipment!) and plenty of experienced advice/guidebooks & routes for all of the above outdoor pursuits. (Andrew owns/runs a mountain bike business in Keswick).

    Also available!

    Internet connection
    An above ground swimming pool from April - October (see photo below!)
    Extensive library
    Wood burning stoves to chill-out around
    .....and plenty of ambiance!

    We look foward to sharing our home with you!

    Melissa and Andrew

    "A smallholding without animals is like a stage without actors"!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two


Host ref number: 19633457174d