Open to ideas for help outside of Des Moines, Iowa - new to Workaway


United States

Favourited 25 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified
  • Description


    (New to this so bare with me)

    I'm a mom with a teenage son. We live in a large historical home on a few acres of land, about 25 minutes from the city of Des Moines. We have 2 dogs, a pool, and we have been airbnb hosts for a couple years. I heard about this website/program from a guest and wondered if I could use the help to get projects done around the house or help educate my son.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers could see how two people in Iowa live :)

    We also have a cousin that lives about an hour away on a family farm where everything is organic and he does all of the work himself. It is a beautiful piece of land and we enjoy visiting him and sometimes riding his horses. And so a guest could see how an Organic farm is run.

    They could experience American food (and overeating) and diversity (we are a mixed race family). They could see how we make things work being a single mom and having one income.

  • Help


    We have a large garden plot that we did not work on this year. We would like to get it up and running in the Spring of 2019, although it seems like it's getting too late for that now. I also need some landscaping done (really just shoveling a lot of dirt to build a retaining wall properly and then returning the dirt.)

    My son has taken a semester of Spanish and I would love for him to have consistent experience with the language to learn it more quickly and fluently (and I would love to pick up some more as I know very basic phrases.)

    I could use help staying motivated to work out and maybe even with preparing meals to keep me from eating junk. I'm open to ideas as this whole concept is new to me and I am not very comfortable accepting or asking for help :) Please note: I currently do all of the cooking or my son does. We don't need someone to "cook" for us. However, if someone is really experienced in planning entire menus and meals that are all keto friendly or something that would help me lose weight - I would be interested in that.

    On a rare chance, maybe someone could help with changing bedding and cleaning the bathrooms and guest rooms between our airbnb guests.

    I don't know - I'm new to this idea so I'm still trying to learn about how it could benefit us while helping someone else.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have two guest rooms in our home. The one I am considering has 2 twin beds (with memory foam mattresses). It has an attached bathroom that is shared with other guests. Both are located upstairs. We have cereal or oatmeal available for breakfast. We have basic food for lunch (sandwich ingredients, etc). We usually eat a dinner meal together. Any meal that I cook (dinner or breakfast on weekends) would be shared. I would not be able to afford paying for someone to eat out.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transportation where we live since we are in a rural area. However, there are buses and taxi's in the city. Uber is available as well. I could also provide a ride in to the city when I am going to work.

    We typically spend Monday-Friday going to school, participating in school sports, having dinner together, and going to bed. We don't have time for anything else. On the weekends we like to spend time with friends, get chores done around the house, visit our cousin on the farm, or see something new in the city.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Depends on "project". Gardening in spring and summer would be more hours, language help would be 1-2 hours a day

Host ref number: 196144597515