Help with my project to connect the arts to agriculture in Mont St-Hilaire, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a multidisciplinary artist. I acquired 3 years ago, a magnificent estate housing a stone house dating from 1825 and a barn transformed into an art workshop where I live with my 14 year old daughter and where I also receive guests on occasion . My project is to connect the arts to agriculture to create a lifestyle that promotes our connection to the land and to self-sufficiency while integrating art to create a bucolic place in harmony with nature. I aim to work in partnership, a development plan in order to integrate into the existing orchard cultures allowing to make a turn in permaculture including animals favorable to this ecosystem. Community is at the center of this project. The ideas are to be developed as well as the infrastructure. Maintenance is underway in parallel with the agriculture project. We pick and squeeze apples in the fall to make our artisanal cider. It is a highly inspiring place conducive to creation.

    Je suis une artiste multidisciplinaire . J'ai acquis il y a 3 ans, un magnifique domaine abritant une maison de pierres datant de 1825 et une grange transformée en atelier d'art où je réside avec ma fille de 14 ans et où je reçois également des guests à l'occasion. Mon projet est de relier les arts à l'agriculture pour créer un style de vie qui favorise notre lien à la terre et à l'autosuffisance tout en intégrant l'art pour créer un lieu bucolique en harmonie avec la nature . Je vise à travailler en parteunariat, un plan d'aménagement afin d'intégrer au verger existant les cultures permettant de faire un virage en permaculture incluant les animaux favorables à cet éco système. Le travail communautaire est au centre de ce projet. Les idées sont à developper ainsi que l'infrastructure afin de permettre la vente du fruit de notre travail. Des travaux d'entretien sont en cours parallèlement au projet d'agriculture. Nous cueillons et pressons les pommes à l'automne pour la fabrication de notre cidre artisanale. C'est un lieu ihautement nspirant et propice à la création.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Elderly Companionship
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Art is at the heart of the project, discussions on the creative processes in order to create links between art and a way of life aimed at autonomy and working the land. The cultivation of apples and fruit trees is typical of Quebec and several craft practices are oriented around these cultures. Manufacture of cider and derived products. Apprenticeship of carpentry. The region is renowned for its culture and heritage, beautiful meetings in perspective in order to forge links between artists and farmers.

    L'art est au coeur du projet, discussions sur les processus créatifs afin de créer des liens entre l'art et un mode de vie visant l'autonomie et le travail de la terre. La culture des pommes et des arbres fruitiers est typique du Québec et plusieurs pratiques artisanales sont orientées autour de ces cultures. Fabriciation du cidre et produits dérivés. Aprentissage de travaux de menuiserie. La région est réputée pour sa culture et son patrimoine, de belles rencontres en perspective afin de tisser des liens entre artistes et agriculteurs.

  • Help

    Help

    The main help I am looking for is knowledge of market gardening and an interest in permaculture. I am looking for workawayers who are creative and who have initiative and who like to do things differently by innovating. All talents can be used to develop the project. Expect to garden, prune fruit trees, plant new plants, pick fruit, squeeze apples, make cider, make preserves and jams, cook pies and other recipes. fruit orchard base, product design, landscaping a chicken coop, website development, repairing and renovating heritage buildings, landscaping artistic spaces in the garden, animating pop-up coffee, creating advertising, animating communications; Instagram, FB. Help prepare meals.

    L'aide principale que je recherche est une connaissance de maraicher et un intérêt pour la permaculture, les travaux manuels, l'entretien des bâtiments, la cuisine et le développement web. Je recherche des workawayers qui sont créatifs et qui ont de l'intiative et qui aiment faire les choses autrement en innovant. Tous les talents peuvent être mis à profit pour développer le projet. Il faut s'attendre à jardiner, tailler les arbres fruitiers, planter les nouveaux plants, cueillir les fruits, vendre les fruits au marché, presser les pommes, fabrication du cidre, faire des conserves et des confitures, cuisiner des tartes et autres recettes a base de fruits du verger, design de produit, aménager un poulailler, développement du site web, réparer et rénover les bâtiments patrimoniaux, aménager des espaces artistiques au jardin, animer le café éphémère, créer de la pub, animer les communications; Instagram, FB. Participer à la préparation des repas .

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One bedroom including 2 single beds in the attic in the annex building; An old barn converted into an artist's studio and residence. Community life with permanent residents. Rustic lifestyle revolving around earth products. Breathtaking view of the mountain and the illuminated horizon.

    Une chambre dont 2 lits simples sous les combles dans le bâtiment annexe; Une ancienne grange aménagée en atelier d'artiste et résidence. Vie communautaire avec les résidents parmanents. Mode de vie rustique gravitant autour des produits de la terre. Vue imprenable sur la montagne et l'horizon illuminé.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Mont St-Hilaire Park nature reserve is accessible on foot, hiking in the forest, agrotourism tours of the region; vineyards, cider houses, markets, artist workshops, artisan bakeries, social cafe, poetry evenings, bike paths to Montreal, Spa within walking distance, picnics and especially beautiful evenings around the fire.

    La réserve naturelle du Parc du Mont St-Hilaire est accesssible a pied, randonnée en forêt, visites agrotouristiques de la région; vignobles, cidreries, marchés, ateliers d'artiste, boulangeries artisanales, café a caractère social , soirées de poésie, pistes cyclable se rendant à Montréal, Spa à distance de marche, picnics et surtout de belles soirées autour du feu.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The project give the opportunity to work on a personal artistic project during their stay, there is tree studio available to work, One is available only on summer time into the orchard, really poetic and silence vibe to create.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We organized a wonderful area to receive van or camper under the fruit trees, with a picnic table and a hamac, the workawayer have a full bathroom inside and they have access to the kitchen and leaving room in the barn.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.


Host ref number: 195943186118