Learn about sustainable living and spend time with our family in Nelson, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/08/2021

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are a family that live on 4 acres 10 minutes outside of Nelson BC. Our family consists of mother who teaches Yoga and is interested in sustainable living. 2 boys aged 7 & 10 and our dog Zoe and some chickens. We have a beautiful property and gardens and would like to share our paradise with some enthusiastic and willing workers. We eat mostly organic and Drea is a excellent cook. We love skiing in the winter and spending time at beaches and outside in the summer. Nelson is a sweet Mountain town with plenty of culture and diversity.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Nelson is a unique area in the world. We are on openminded and fun family and a visitor could expect to practice their english, learn about sustainable living and gardening and eat yummy food.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The help required would be mainly in the garden and outside projects. We will be building a chicken coop and a greenhouse! Help with maintenance firewood collecting, splitting, garden preparation. Carpentry skills an asset. Looking for person or couple that is positive, enthusiastic, can work independently with direction and has some experience with organic gardening and general maintenance. You will be fun, must like children and dogs and would love to come to this beautiful area. Expect to work 5 hours a day/5 days a week. Meals are mostly organic and yummy and this is truly a spectacular part of the world. Accommodation will be a room in the house or camping when the weather is good. We also have a woodfire sauna and beach nearby.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be either staying in a room in our house which is a converted barn or camping if the weather is nice with access to the house for showers and kitchen. We eat organic food and we provide granola/cereal/ farm eggs/toast/coffee for breakfast (self-serve), lunch makings and dinner all together cooked by host.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a nearby beach, lots of hiking trails, kayaking, camping opportunities. You will have 2 days off in the week (not necessarily weekend depending on week) to enjoy the great outdoors. Also welcome to participate in family outings.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 195468345468