Help our family settle into a new place on the Bruce Peninsula, Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 1 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Phil and Maria (and our 2-year-old twin girls).

    We recently moved to this quiet property in the Bruce Peninsula, directly on the famous Bruce Trail, one of Canada's longest, most beautiful hiking trails.

    We're in Purple Valley, between Wiarton (15-minute drive) & Lion’s Head (25-minute drive).

    Phil works from home, building websites for people who want to make the world better as well as running his own site where he teaches people how to grow their own organic, nutrient-dense food.

    Maria makes drinking chocolate "elixirs" handmade with cacao from Mexico (where she is from originally) and sells them at local farmers' markets and online.

    We're excited to share this special place with you! Please feel free to ask us any questions you have.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in the countryside and work mostly from home, so most of your time will be spent with us here.

    We go to small, local markets once or twice a week to sell Maria's chocolate, and Phil drives down to Toronto once a week, so you're welcome to join for any of that, or you can stay home for some quiet time.

    We also have an outing once/week to go do something fun in the area. There's a lot to choose from!

    Mostly, we spend our time at home, drinking coffee and hot chocolate and enjoying the view :)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We recently moved into this house and there's plenty to do around here:

    - Phil is gradually designing and building vegetable gardens and a permaculture food forest, so there's lots to do there if you're interested in learning to grow food.

    - Simpler projects involve organizing some messy areas (e.g. tools in the garage) or cleaning up some junk that was left on the property.

    - More challenging projects are helping with house renovations or small building projects on the property - whatever skills you have, we probably need them! Example projects we'd like help with: building an outdoor toilet, a tiny house/bunkie (for workawayers to stay in!), a new interior wall in the house.

    - And there are plenty of odds and ends: bicycle maintenance, lawn mower maintenance, or feel free to offer other skills.

    You can choose your work hours throughout the day and week.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For now, we only have camping available. It's a great property for camping! We can give you a tent or you can use your own tent/vehicle.

    As for food, we can eat all meals together or you can eat some meals on your own - whatever is best for you. We're happy to accommodate any dietary requirements.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are very rural, so the main activities around here are hiking, relaxing in nature, meditating, and reading a lot of books!

    There's no public transportation, but we drive to town a couple of times a week. And Phil drives to Toronto once/week, so he can pick you up and drop you off in Toronto or at Pearson Airport or anywhere else nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We love to host digital nomads. Our download speed is about 25Mbps and upload speed is 3-5Mbps, good enough for most uses.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Any size is fine.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Pets are okay as long as they're good with kids.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 193962847776