Bush living, helping with off grid home improvements in Wilkesdale, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 8 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/11/2020

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live on a 40 acre property in the rural South Burnett, of South east Queensland, Australia. I am a soil biologist and mycologist (specialising in fungi). I love nature and all creatures great and small. The land I look after is for wildlife to flourish and it is a retreat and a hide away for me. I have lots of projects designed to improve soil and vegetation conditions on the land, and about to start a small building project for one of the dwellings. The land is secluded and forested, it is a home to three different types of wallabies, several parrot species and other birds, as well as brushtail possums and their babies, among other wildlife . There is a dam to swim in and plenty of apsce to relax, read and enjoy the peace and quiet of nature. The two dwellings are completely off grid powered by solar power. My place is suitable for people who love nature, want to relax and learn some cool ways to help nature regenerate.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My place is a good example of bush living in Australia, with the unique opportunity to also experience off grid living, relying on rain water, solar power and composting toilet. I can share special knowledge about how to regenerate soils with particular focus on improving soil biology through worm farming and composting. I indulge in a plant-based diet for the last 20 years, so vegans or people aspiring to become vegan are especially welcome.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    Handyman skills including carpentry really welcome for home improvement projects, confidence with using a chainsaw and other power tools for land-based projects.

    The main current project is to install a window in the bedroom of a shipping container home and create a small extension for a stove.

    The major environmental project is to cut down a small trees and create terraces on the slopes to retain moisture on the the land.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The guest house is made of a shipping container comprising a small bedroom, living area and kitchen, as well as a large deck overlooking the property with interesting plants in the front garden and lots of opportunities for bird and other wildlife spotting. The bedroom has a vent and a double bed, it has a vent but needs a bedroom window and the kitchen a small extension for a stove to be added in. The bathroom has a bathtub and a shower. The place is clean and pretty empty, so there is lots of space to sprawl out.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My place is a 20 minute drive to the historical town of Wondai and half an hour drive to Kingaroy, the major town for the region. Kingaroy is small but has nice cafes and restaurants, a shopping centre, Bunnings and a great fruit and veg shop, as well as Aldi, IGA and Woolworths. The Bunya Mountains National Park is a treat, around an hour's drive.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is mobile phone reception in the guest house and possibility to connect to the main house wi-fi

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is a large carport for a caravan or campervan right next to the guest house

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Sorry no pets as there is lots of widlife around

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 193678754973