Help around the house and garden in an old farmhouse in beautiful Downeast Maine, USA


United States

Favourited 32 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment


Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Stay with us in our 200+ year old farmhouse in beautiful downeast Maine! My husband James and I live on our 50 acre property of woods and fields with our baby daughter, four dogs, two cats, 18 chickens, and three geese. We have wooded trails on our property and there are plenty more places to hike nearby as well as swimming beaches, and ten minutes away from nearest town with cafes, shops etc.
    This is very rural small town life, for fun here we go swimming, reading in hammocks, hiking, and occasional summer parties with neighbors, it’s not a place with a big social or nightlife.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The natural beauty here’s is incredible. The people are a mix of fishing and farming families that have been here for hundreds of years, artists and authors that were drawn here by the magical views and the quiet, and younger families that have come to start their own farms and small businesses. Community is very special here and travelers will have the opportunity to become a part of that community.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help


    My husband works very long hours in the summer as a lobsterman and I would love some light help around the property. Chores could include working in the vegetable garden, chopping wood, helping with the animals, expanding our trails, using our riding lawnmower, and housecleaning. I will be selling Seafood at the local Farmers Market every week and you would be welcome to help me with this if you would like to get more involved in the community (I will pay a share of market sales for assistance with this.)
    I love to cook and am happy to cook for you but would also welcome help in the kitchen if cooking is something you enjoy. We eat everything (mostly from our garden and local farms) which includes a lot of meat and seafood so a vegetarian / vegan diet won’t be a good fit here. Also we do have FOUR large dogs who live in the house and protect the birds / bark at the neighbors, so please only travelers who are very comfortable around big doggos.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    You will have your own room in our house with large bed and beautiful views of the garden. Or if you prefer more privacy you can stay in the apartment above our barn (it has electricity but no plumbing). Shared bathroom and kitchen.
    All food will be provided, breakfast and lunch will often be a “help yourself” and dinner we will cook and eat together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Vehicle will be available, visitors should have a drivers license so that they can explore all the nearby beaches, towns, etc. we are an hour away from beautiful Acadia National Park. Please be fluent in English but speaking another language is a huge plus, we would love to host travelers from other countries!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours day / 5 days a week

Host ref number: 193461332136