Horse experienced english speaking volunteers are welcome to help us in our daily work at the stables on the skirts of Mount Ida, Turkey



Favourited 50 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    We are a couple in our mid and late fifties (Melda, an ex-greenpeace campaigner with an interest in Permaculture; Mahir, a horseback riding instructor). We live with our three horses, 2 ponies, 4 cats, a pack of hounds and some chickens... an hour's drive from Canakkale in western Turkey. Our land is situated at the skirts of beautiful Mount Ida and the nearest town Bayramic is 15 km away from us. We live off-grid with solar+wind electricity, compost toilets, some permaculture practices and "objectives". We have occasional visitors who come for horseback riding lessons and we are looking forward to organise small tours with our horses. We love spending most of our time outdoors, come rain or shine. We have a vineyard, some apple trees, a stream beneath our land. We started some permaculture practices: we use solar and wind energy and compost toilets. We have plans for building a natural pond to harvest rainwater from our huge roof, produce bio-gas from our organic waste, etc. We are sharing experiences with a lot of "new settler" friends in the vicinity, who have also left the rush and the comforts of city life to discover new ways of being and living more sustainably in or close to nature.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Mahir is an enthusiast of horses for donkey years and kept horses for nearly forty years. Keeping horses at home was a life dream that came through since the last four years. For the enthusiast, we have a horse library and years of experience to share around the yard and the cup of coffee. Furthermore, history of horsemanship is a speciality area Mahir loves to explore and he is more than happy to share his archive. Although we have been city dwellers from Istanbul almost all our lives, we now live in nature. We have contact with the villagers as well as a growing community of about 40 or more people in a 40 km radius who have changed their lives and recently moved to the countryside from big cities to have more sustainable lives. We come together at least once a week at the villagers' market in Bayramic and share experiences, practices, etc. whenever possible. The antique city of Troy and the Aegean coast is about an hour's drive from our place and we are very close to the recreation area north of Mount Ida (the mythological site of the "first beauty contest") with a lot of trails to walk.

  • Help


    We need help mainly in our daily work with horses at the stables and the farm. This is our home, but we also have visitors who come occasionally to take horseback riding lessons. We have an outdoors arena and endless village roads for riding. We hope to organise small tours with our horses in the future. Some help is most welcome with the general farm work and cooking too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, turkish

  • Accommodation


    We have a prefabricated wooden cabin (15sqm) close to the stables. There is a bed, small table and chairs, a wood stove, a kitchenette, a small fridge, a compost toilet in it. Shower is in the main house. Once a week after the stables are cleaned, we go to a thermal spa, an hour's drive from our place, to take a bath. We shop once or twice at the market place in town. Cooking can be done by the volunteer for him/herself in the cabin or by taking turns (on the outdoor wood stove in hot summer days and in our house in winter time).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bayramic has more than 70 villages and we have quite a number of "new settlers" from big cities in the region. We have one car and we are hoping to get a second hand motorbike that the voluteer can also use. We only had friends who came to visit and help us, but no volunteers before. Our priority is the safety and wellbeing of our animals and living with people who love and respect nature, using resources in a mindful way. We do not smoke and prefer a volunteer who is a non-smoker (or a very very careful smoker, because we live in a pine forest and our stables and our home are made of wood). We have hot and dry summers and no air conditioner, cold winters and only wood stoves, no TV, some internet, and a lot of stars at night time :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 193143652879