Help me around my off-grid place and enjoy nature in Alentejo, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 108 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/12/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I moved into my family home 3 years ago, situated right on the cliffs (ocean view) in a national park where the size of the property is 11 hectares. Due to recent events I have decided to make my land self-sustainable. So there is a lot to do e.g. building a hen house, a pond for ducks, a shed for goats and much more. I want to create a beautiful area with fruit trees, benches, swings, sea saw for grown ups lol.
    The current projects are building a green house, creating a food garden according to permaculture principles with a automatic watering system and building up the big fence for the animal area. Also there are some issues electricity that want to be fixed.
    Furthermore I have a 20m x 15m reservoir where I would like to learn more about having fish in there.
    I would like to build a tree house in the sand dunes over looking the ocean.
    And many more awesome ideas.
    The home is very special, it heals and inspires the soul of its guests.
    As everything it also needs love so there’s always maintenance and care to be done.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The house is located in The southwest Alentejo natural park surrounded by agriculture in front of the ocean. The surrounding villages in this area make you feel like stepping in a time bubble, good food and good people. Here you can exchange skills and knowledge on fishing, farming, gardening, landscape.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    What is needed most at the moment is:

    Gardening (Permaculture style)
    Carpentry
    Electricity issues (installing solar panels)


    Furthermore we´d love to have help with:

    Taking care of our three puppies
    Taking care of the farm animals
    Landscaping
    Farming
    Agriculture
    Creating a fish habitat
    House maintenance
    Several creative/art projects

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Comfortable beds with shared bathroom. Bathtub and shower.
    3 meals a day plus snacks.
    Falling asleep is quite peaceful due to the sounds of the oceans waves.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Plenty of hiking and beaches and quaint little towns. There are bus connections as well.

    The only thing I expect from my guests is honesty and respect because that’s what they will get from me from day one. From there it’s just peaches and cream.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 192561334633