Become part of a glamping project in a family owned land close to Lisbon, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 1015 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    65  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATED:
    Summer season is arriving and we are quite busy with all tasks related with guests: cleaning and preparing the accomodations for the next guests, do the laundry, taking care of the garden and of course helping to keep tidy the common areas. That is why we want responsible and committed volunteers with initiative, and most important someone with positive energy who enjoys cooking and sharing good company :-)


    Hi,

    We are David my children Kiko (12) and Violeta (2), a young family of 3 + 2 cats and 1 dog that after spending their lifes in the hustle and bustle of city life decided to change the urban stress for the quietness of the countryside.

    The place where we are starting our new life is a 3.5 ha piece of land less than 50km south of Lisboa (1h drive) in front of Cape Espichel, next to the Ocean and beautiful cliffs and 10 minutes away from the nearest beach.
    This land has belonged to our family for more than 40 years. We live in a wooden Bungalow and our project is based in an Eco Glamping lodgement with a Hobbit hut, 1 little rustic house, 3 caravans and 2 dry toilets with hot water .
    We also have one biologic vegetable garden where we grow some delicious veggies that we use as part of our diet

    Harmony with nature is a major concern so electricity is provided by solar panels, we only use biological higiene and cleaning products, one of the toiletts uses one wood burning boilers for water heating, we compost and recycle.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a communicative and good mooded person that loves nature, to travel, meet new people and sharing life experiences. This project us to travel without moving as we receive guests and volunteers from all parts of the world.

    I am half Portuguese and half Spanish and although I always lived in Lisbon I like to say we are an Iberian family :)
    We can introduce you to some of the Iberian gastronomy, show you a bit around the area and explain you about the Portuguese and Spanish traditions (specially the Catalan) and it´s culture.

  • Help

    Help

    We ask for 4/5 hours of daily help 5 days a week in a shedule to decide. It's up to you to chose what to do the rest of the day :-)

    Creativity, hard work, initiative, positive spirit, improvisation and good sense of humor are very valued.

    Help is needed in different tasks and we are looking for volunteers with multi skilled expertise to assist us with general maintenance works such as gardening, construction, painting, fencing, creating little trails/paths and accessibility for guests to move around the land and many others related to life in the country side.

    Do you have any specific skills that fit in this description? Permaculture, bioconstruction, wood structures, a bread oven, barbecue, lake, construction, etc...?? If you know about some of this it will be much valuated but if you know about other things let us know

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish, Italian, Catalan and Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on availability volunteers will be accomodated in either a caravan or a tent. Please bring your sleeping bed and towel (we provide sheets and extra blanket if needed.

    Food, cooking and washing facilities will be provided but cooking is also a skill that we value.
    We are not vegetarian, but most of our diet is, as we include many vegetables in it. Salads, fruit, bread, pasta, eggs, rice, potates are our basic diet but we also eat meat and fish a couple of times a week.

    If you are ok with this you are welcome to join us in all daily meals. If you have special diet requirements we can also get you a weekly vegetable basket and you should be able to cook your own meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a lot to see in and and around the area!
    Starting with hiking all the paths surrounding the land, you can easily reach the top of the cliffs in the coast (5 mins walk),Cabo Espichel is just a couple of kilometres away.
    It takes 20 mins to walk to the closest village (Azoia), where you can find two cafes and a minimarket. There are buses daily to go to Sesimbra (a fisherman village and the biggest town in the area).
    From Sesimbra and Santana there here are also several daily buses to Lisbon or Setubal ( in case you want to spend a day in the city).

    If you prefer to spend the day on the beach it will take you another 15 mins to walk to Praia da Foz, the closest one. Further more you can find other beaches along the coast.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

This can be your acommodation!
Us :-)
Our beautiful organic veggies
Praia da Foz, the nearest beach
Some pine trees in our land
just 5 min away...
The Cottage
Tomatoes to be...
Dry toilet (we have 2)
Wood boiler for hot water
One caravan, 2 to go :-)
Our house

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







































Host ref number: 117549331516