Help us with horses and tourists on a small agri-tourism farm in the jungle near Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

Favourited 246 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a 100-acre tropical agri-tourism farm located in the foothills of the jungle northeast of Quepos with 4 horses, chickens, 3 dogs, and a cat. Most of the land is secondary and primary forest which we try to protect or improve (as regards the secondary forest). We are taking great care of our animals and try to involve our local community to understand and see how we treat our animals.

    We are also working on an extended trail system, planting grass, trees, flower etc. We already have 5km of trails through the jungle. Maintenance is hard work and we usually have local labor to perform that task.

    Our horses can be ridden on the property or also outside on gravel roads, small trails, to rivers and beautiful viewpoints.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are committed to building up our local community through social involvment. Our strategy is that of sustainability and social responsibility. We welcome the opportunity to share this beautiful area and culture with you. You will interact closely with our local labor force.

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment we need help for the tasks below. We try to have 2 workaways at a time to collaborate:

    Taking care of horses:
    Train, feed, clean, groom and ride our horses, at the moment we have 3 of them. Some need more attention, some are already in good shape! It is essential that you have previous experience with horses and are comfortable with them. We follow natural horsemanship principles.

    Helping with tourists:
    We are offering walking and riding tours as well as rent out a guesthouse. We need general help with tourists, check-in, check-out, tours etc. There is also a nice swimming pool that needs to be taken care of.

    Cooking:
    We usually have breakfasts and dinners jointly at our outside rancho. We need help preparing food and taking care of the kitchen

    Ideally you can cover all of the above. We are a on a big property, so there are always things to be done. If you have any special interest or expertise just let us know!

    Please note:
    - Clearly specify the time you would like to come (Dates)
    - Fluency in English is required, Spanish is a plus
    - We are sorry, but we cannot accommodate special dietary restrictions
    - Minimum stay is 3 weeks (we want you to do something meaningful and therefore you need time to get to know our place, the animals, trails, etc.)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Large 25m² tent with attached bathroom, max. occupancy 2 people same gender.

    A rich breakfast and dinner is provided and meals are usually enjoyed jointly at our outside Rancho

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in a remote location in the jungle, but only 25minutes by car from town or beautiful beaches. However, there is no public transport close to our farm. Next bus stop is about 7km away. Closest supermarket is about 4km away. Taxis are available on call and I am also willing to arrange for transportation for a small fee. Transportation to/from the airport in San Jose can also be arranged.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a decent internet connection. That means somewhere around 2-10Mbs. Depends on how many people are connected etc. It is usually good for looking up the Internet, email, whatsapp calls and also occasional Skype video. However, listening to music online and expecting flawless video streaming is not going to work.

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    A dog or cat should not be a problem as long as he is trained and does not bother tourists, other farm animals or guests.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Comfortable glamping tent
Guest dinner at our rancho
Workaway training the horses
Workaway planting trial grass field
Two of our horses
Horsetour with guests
Our river pond
Our waterfall
Our Rancho

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 189684397781