Join me in gorgeous Castlemaine, several building projects, maintenance and the massive garden! Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 33 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 18 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Are you good human? Im a good human :) thats my non-negotiable for anyone who wants to come and stay... that and be awesome. I value good communication, and will (try to) kick your ass at scrabble or, for the English-as-a-second-language players- Yahtzee - my new (old) favourite.

    I have lived in Castlemaine for a year, prior to that I was 10 years in Melbourne and am originally from the UK. I love my home, and hanging in the garden bath tubs is my favourite place in the whole world :) Currently I have a housemate but that may or may not be the case by the time you get here, there is lots of space. I work 9-5 in Bendigo, so Im up and away most mornings.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Castlemaine is in the Victorian goldfields, its 1.5hrs from Melbourne on the Vline train ($17 one way) , and about the same to drive, straight up the Calder freeway. Its HOT.. like really hot... bush fire hot in summer and bloody cold in winter! - I have lovely air con and heating to deal with both of those issues, and you will need to be sun smart when working in the garden and familiarize yourself with the 'What to do on code red days' strategy. Right now, spring is warm and sunny and there are wattles and gums in bloom everywhere, autumn here is stunning.

    Castlemaine has lots of miner history, many places to visit, walk and explore. The house is surrounded by walking and biking track plus there is a cute steam train that runs along the back of the property a few times a week. Im expecting you to be relatively autonomous with your time so you can get the work done as well as enjoy all the wonders of the area. it really is pretty special!

  • Help

    Help

    its a pretty cruise gig here I recon... general house stuff mostly gardening, occasional cleaning out the Taj-mah-Chook, a bit of cleaning and if you've got the skills house maintenance, Veggie box building, fence building and house painting. I live in gorgeous Castlemaine in a house with chooks and massive garden... hence needing some help! I have a couple of Art projects that id like to get started, but there will be some general jobs to do before we get into mosaics, murials and masterpieces!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Four bedroom house, each room has a queen sized bed. Singles, couples and we-are-not-sure's are welcome. The garden hosts multiple bath tubs & I'm reliably informed that I own Castlemaine's best shower - we are in a drought prone area tho so need to be mindful of our water usage.

    The house has several living/chilling spaces and WIFI. I've got plenty of sheets, towels, duvets and blankets. I'll provide you with breakfast and lunch ingredients for your time here, tea and coffee. I'll provide the ingredients and rotate who cooks dinner depending on who's home. You provide your own snacks & be reasonable with what you consume.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    its my home and Ill reiterate my first comments, be a good human, be awesome. treat my and my home as you'd like to be treated and respect the space. If you break something, tell me!

    Theres several bikes here you can use to go to town on, and potential occasional use of car on negotiation (you pay for petrol) lots of stuff to do in Castlemaine, great art, dance, yoga classes, a swimming pool, local history to explore, walks, talks, quiz nights, a beautiful reservoir for swimming when its sunny, and some really good pubs.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 188485647439