Support me in "living a dream" 45 km from Cologne, Germany



Favourited 1681 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Sat Nam,
    First of all I want to say thank you for all the lovely mail's I get, it really give me a lot of power... And I also want to say sorry for all the request's I not answere not right in time... The last three years where a big challenge but now the future of this project is a lot saver... Pity enough there was a big storm in the early spring last year and it has damage the old barn. So the focus is to go on rebuilding the barn and transform it into a spiritual seminaries house with a big workshop on the ground floor. The idea behind is to create an open space for everybody how wants to learn and share his knowledge... It's also the first year that I open my land for a community vegetable garden project. So there is relay a lot tot doe this year and I am looking for hardworking idealist's how can handle our simple way of living and like to let this dream come true... I am sure we will have a great community time together sharing our skills music, story's around the campfire. So please let me now if you like to help me . I am also especilly looking for someone hoe like to stay for a longer period and help my with my three beatuifull children, hoe are living part time with me, take care of the house and and help me organising with volunteers... I can offer you a small private space and for shure a live changing experience
    ...about the way of living:
    I try to live a spiritual and more alternative life including daily meditation and kundalini yoga. I try to take my food out of the land and I am also a practicing freegan (including dumpster diving). I live in a very old small Village 50 km south west of Cologne. Nearly 8 years ago I decided to leave the big city life, to start a more natural way of being. My place is a little ancient farm with a very beautiful land containing a little stream, source, fishponds, little forest, vegetable garden... even if it’s still chaotic and messy I love this tiny piece of earth and I feel relay blessed to live here.
    For a few years I have run this place alone and so i really appreciate helping hands. The jobs are varied and diverse,
    I try to use as much as possible ecological and recycled materials like sheep wool isolation, clay walls, wood frame constructing, stone walls......
    For me as host it’s not simply looking for helping hands, I like to share my house, lifestyle, dreams, knowledge and enjoying the time together. I like to cook together, singing round the campfire and all this hippy stuff. I have already had more than 150 workawayers, helpers and woofers, and my experience shows me that I prefer enthusiast People above 25, who have no problems with breakfast at 8:00, and see themselves as open minded, spiritual, Rainbow people, colorful, easy going... I personal don't drink alcohol ( I works a lot of years as a bartender in Berlin and saw so much beatifull souls changing...) and i don't lijke the energies of drunken people. So if you need alcohol to feel good, this is maybe not the right place.

    About my self: I am a Master Violin Maker and Music therapist and I have full-time job as teacher for historical instrument building at the university Gent Belgium. I have a love for ancient and alterative methods and skills and try to grow my vegetables in a bio-dynamic, permaculture style including the rhythm of the moon. Further i am busy with different natural and shamanic healing and tantric traditions. I love making music, joining rainbow gatherings,....
    Living here is very basic (no warm water during the summer for example) Depending on the number of helpers it can happen that you have to share a sleeping place with other workawayers
    Workaway for me, is a great opportunity to invite the world to my little place and to help me realize my dream of a more sustainable life. Without all the helping hands i wouldn’t be able. It’s for me a matter of sharing and I really like to host people. Let's raise our voice, we have the choice to heal this land and our lives

    Love and light
    Hari Ong Singh

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    there is a beautiful landscape around and also this very old little village is quit nice. Further you will learn a lot about ecological gardening and building and have a nice community time. And of course I can tell you something about musical instrument building and thousand other things...

  • Help


    ( 25.2.19) ...last summer we rebuild the construction of the old barn house with a lot of helping hands from workaway and I am relay proud and thankful for all what we have realized but the hole is quiet messie now and this I really want to change so that the energie can flow again... The vision is to transform this old barn into a open spiritual seminar house. Here is a lot of work to doe mainly with wood and other organic materials... I am also still busy with renovating the 400 year old Farm house and creating new rooms into there. For the rest there is alot to doe in the garden there are a few old trailers that want to transform into tinny houses... The most works a right now are perfect for people how want build, reorganize, design or renovate in the future their own farm or tiny house in a more alternative way. In the last years I have really learned a lot of skill and I absolutely like to share all of it. My experience with having a lot of helpers here, show me that it is absolutely not imported If you are a women or men. For me the most importend is that my description resonate with your heart and that you seeking for learning in you live.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    In the summer months we often have a lot of helper's here so that is nearly always shared sleeping rooms! and in the summer we have also only cold water!

    - Mongolian Yurt up the hill in the forest

    - Caravan

    - there is also a sleeping room in my instrument building workshop

    - Potentially anywhere in the garden if you have a tent
    It's really a simple and basic way of lifestyle,for example we don't have warm water in the summer month...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    there is quite a lot nature around including two caves and historical buildings, it's definitely not the right place for party people but nature lovers will love it

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The first bread of the nieuw build "historical " bread oven
the summerkitchen pizza day
the summer kitchen last year "clay wall action"
budhist elf in the veggie garden
view of the kitchen
the dinning room in the old farmhouse
Plum hervesting
litlle stream running thrugh my land

Host ref number: 399746897793