Share life experiences and skills with us in Rocky Mountains- Canmore, Banff and Millarville Alberta, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 349 times
  • Last activity: 4 Dec 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Hello Workawayers,

    We travel during the winter months and are not hosting guests from November 1st, 2023 to April 15th, 2024

    Audrey and I have been hosting couples for the past two years to reduce the risks associated with the virus . We have now decided when ever possible we would prefer to continue to host couples, Thanks for viewing our profile - safe travels and stay healthy.

    We and I have two homes, one in the beautiful mountain community of Canmore our primary home. We also have a second home in the Alberta foothills, our Millarville farm. We spend time with our guests between both our properties and there is always lots to do at the farm, repairing and building fences , cleaning up our wood lot, gardening and numerous do it yourself (DIY) jobs, painting and carpentry. Because we spend time at both of our homes and there is more to do at the farm we prefer that our workawayers take their days off when we are in Canmore. There are jobs to do at our Canmore home, daily chores such as house keeping, yard work and general maintenance, DIY.
    Canmore is a great outdoor life style community , with lots of outdoor activities hiking, climbing, canoeing, snowshoeing, skiing, and beautiful mountain scenery, there are lots of summer and winter activities. Millarville is beautiful farm land with a year around stream , we have large raised garden beds and nature to learn about. There are great farmers markets, biking, and hiking in the area as well.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Audrey and I have travelled through Europe, South America and much of North America, including Mexico and parts of Central America.

    We along with our sons have lived in other countries and have enjoyed learning about different cultures. Our youngest son now lives in Scotland and the second is married with twin son and daughter.

    We both love meeting new people and sharing our and your life experiences and skills with each other. I have been a volunteer leader with the Calgary Stampede for more than 40 years and love helping people learn and contribute to community.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We just built a new building at Millarville and did a lot of the work ourselves, carpentry, electrical, insulation, etc. We also have new work projects of a similar but much smaller nature. We have a large garden that needs the normal care spring sowing (May, June), weeding (July, August), and harvesting ( August, Sept, Oct) gardening does not start until May and finishes in October. We also manage our tree lot with chain sawing lumber, and cutting firewood. While in Canmore there is less to do but we do have yard work, house work and chores around the house, and some painting and deep cleaning. We always encourage our guests to help with the preparation of meals, clean up after, and participation in preparing a meal from their culture. There is no shortage of food or great conversation at our dinner table. Our work days starts after breakfast (weekends it is eggs, bacon, hash browns and perhaps pancakes) weekdays are normally lighter with cereals, eggs, yogurts, fruit, juice, milk and coffee. On the weekends we normally start work around 10 am and stop for a light snack during the day and finish with a hardy meals around 5 or 6 PM.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Audrey and I plan to visit Central America in the winter and want to learn and speak Spanish .

  • Accommodation


    While staying in Canmore you stay in our home in a private bedroom with its own bathroom. At our Millarville property we have a guest bedroom and bath in the main house, we also have an RV with multiple bedrooms and bathroom.

    All meals are normally prepared and eaten together with our family. There will always be plenty of food at every meal. As our workaway hosts you are our guests but we appreciate your help with making dinners, clean up after and sharing kitchen duties. We some times have wine of beer with meals, or around the camp fire. We are happy to share but do ask that you check with us when consuming these rinks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We normally start our day with a good breakfast and then have one or two short breaks for refreshments and snacks during the day and finish with a large meal at the end of the work day. We try and work extra hours at Millarville and then provide our workaway guests with more time off in Canmore. Both of our properties offer lots to do, but Canmore is world famous for its beauty and outdoor activities. Summer, mountain biking, hiking, rock climbing, site seeing. Winter offers both great down hill and cross country skiing, snowshoeing, wildlife photography, and site seeing. Our home at Millarville has our horses, biking, hiking, and fishing in the stream. There are also farmers markets and three lovely small communities within a ten minute drive.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have loads of room for vans and campers at Millarville, space is somewhat limited to street parking in Canmore.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week

Host ref number: 777427125766

Feedback (10)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Learn a simple way of living in Quebec, Canada
Animal and grain farm in central Saskatchewan, Canada