Help at our family farm and learn our culture in Lendava, Slovenia

Country

Slovenia

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/01/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a doughter of a parents who have a farm in eastern part of Slovenia. We used to have cows, pigs etc. Now we only have chickens. And a huge garden where we grow all the vegetables we need. My parents live there alone, and I live in the capital, but i often go to wisit them, especially in the summer when is a lot of work to me done at home. My father isn´t in the best health shape, so some extra help around the house would me very welcome.
    My mother is expert of using (wild) plants (wild garlic, daisies, violets, black elder, pickling fruits and vegetables, sour cabbage and turnips, collection of wild plants and tea flowers etc.)

    My vision is to make there a sustainable farm and community where i can show the people how easy is to grow own food any by showing an example helping to local ecomony how we can fight corporations that are selling us lower quallity food. To those who are just used to buy food in supermarket i would like to show how tasty the food is when it is produced naturally.

    The guests can also come to stay to my place in Ljubljana, to have a little bit of relaxation.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in an area where three different cultures meet: slovenian, hungarian and croatian. My mather, for example is hungarian, and my father is slovenian. I was raised bilingual. there is an influence of different cultures in food, hospitallyty (for Prekmurje region they say that is the most generous in Slovenia). You can learn how is to live connected to to fields, soil, nature, wood. The life here is very peacefull - the vibrations are completelly different like in the capital - i alway feel it when i return home - an i feel very peacefull when i live. the food here has a lot of hungarian influence. We are very connected to our River Mura which is still without hydroelectric power plant - and i really hope tha it will stay like this. They call the river european Amazon. It still have the curves of the old "path" of the river.
    Additionally, nerby live a communities of Gipsies - that community also live in harmony with other nations.
    We can teach you about the local folklore, you can go cycling, hiking on smaller hills, swimming in thermal water (10 km away), roller blading. And you can also teach of some things from your country. :)
    Definnetly, you can learn how "ordinary" people can arrange their lifes even with a lower income and still be able to enjoy it.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a farm and an eco garden where we need some help: mowing, grabbing, preparing, pruning cypresses in froint of the house, clearing the wood and cleaning, changing the roof of the stable, helping the vineyard (pruning), renovating the old barns (we are raising the free breeding of chickens for eggs), repairing old bicycles, renovating one of the bathrooms in the house. The goal is to establish a successful eco-farm and a hostel for casual workers who would like to spend some time in our village (we have a big house of 2 floors, one is empty and needs to be renovated). To my family hosting you would mean to have a little bit of a difference in a life that we are used to (not just us, the whole village) - it would be out of the box.

    So if you like to combine a little bit of work with a holliday in this part of the world, you are welcome to come :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Croatian: Fluent
    Hungarian: Fluent
    Slovenian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    He have a house of two floors - the zero floor is still under the renovation.
    Depend when the guests will arrive, if before the renovation is complete, you have available 2 rooms and a shared kithcen and bathroom in the flat where my parents live. You will have a french bed, clean sheets, towels.
    But after the renovations the zero floor will be available for our guests.
    You can also go to sleep into our house in vineyard. :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In my area you can do: horseback riding, tennis, golf, hiking, cycling routes for the family, go to spa and thermae, visiting the castle, galleries, concerts, local parties/festivals, making ceramics, swimming, sunbathing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 186785767878