Family in Palmela, Portugal, seeking help with farm and house

Country

Portugal

Favourited 110 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    39  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/06/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    554

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of city people (me, Joana, my mom Rosa, my dad Carlos, and my brother) who own a little country house and are making it our main home.
    Someone with skills in gardening, carpentry and/or DIY knowledge/experience is very welcome.
    It's a small piece of land, about half an acre in a quiet and calm area called Terrim. There is a main house where me and my family live and a secondary house where my grandmother lives.
    We have various fruit trees along with some free range chickens, ducks and a few cats.
    It's a good place for those looking to relax and get away from all the stress of the city.

    PLEASE HAVE IN MIND: we prefer non-smoking workayers.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll be able to learn or share your knowlege about organic farming while enjoying a calm outdoors environment and eating home-grown organic fruits and vegetables.
    My Dad can teach stuff about Electricity, Solar, and related subjects, in a practical way.
    You'll be in a calm rural environment where you can enjoy nature, go on bike rides (alone or with company) and explore the area as well as the city near us (Pinhal Novo).
    There is also a pool for you to enjoy if the weather is favorable.
    There are beaches near by in Arrábida along with the historical city of Palmela which we can provide transport to.
    The train station near by is one of the main stations in the country and from there you can easily go to Lisbon (capital of Portugal), other beaches in Setúbal and many other places.
    And you'll be around fun, dynamic people who will gladly share their knowledge with you and who knows you might teach us a few things too ;)
    Ah ! Our neighbours are also WorkAway Hosts. Yes, it is Fun!

  • Help

    Help

    There are a number of projects going on here:
    my mom is starting an all-organic, eco-friendly farming project; my dad is building a working shed and there are also a few indoor and outdoor projects to do.
    Main tasks:
    - general farming (preparing the soil, planting, watering , picking up the weeds, cutting high weeds and bushes using a String Trimmer...)
    - cutting wood to use on the fire place.
    - yard cleaning and maintenance.
    - housekeeping
    - Carpentry related to house and outside projects.
    - building and wall painting
    - creative ingenuity (presently there is some decorative paintings to be done on the outside of a renovated caravan).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll have your own room on the top floor of the main house. The room has two individual beds, so sometimes it is possible we have two workawayers at the same time. In that case, you have to share the same bedroom.
    You'll have free access to the kitchen but main meals (lunch and dinner) we'll usually eat together.
    We have a pretty diverse diet but will respect any dietary restrictions you may have and you're welcome to pitch in with your own recipes.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Even though the house is located in a rural area you'll still be pretty close to city life such as supermarkets (nearest one 2.5-3km away), bus and train station (4km away)
    On your free time you'll be able to use the pool, take naps on the hammock outside and explore the area.
    We pleasantly do sight-seeing with you. There are nice places around !
    Or provide transportation to the train station.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Peppers....hmmmmm... :)
You're never alone in the garden/farm
Getting ready for dinner after a trip to the garden

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.7)

























Host ref number: 186155138251