Help me with home and gardening projects in a unique outback mining community, The Gemfields, QLD, Australia

  • Favourited 25 times
  • Last activity: 10 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I am a rural-remote nurse and natural therapist with a love for music, gardening, nature, travel and alternative thinking. I am looking for an adventurous Workawayer who is interested in staying in a cottage next to a seasonal creek and completing house/ landscaping tasks in exchange. The Gemfields is a group of sapphire mining communities and in your spare time, you can benefit from learning about sapphire mining culture such as fossicking, digging and gemstone cutting. If you are keen for an adventure in this unique part of outback Queensland, PM me and I’ll send you my carefully curated information package to entice you further.

    Love & Light,

    Josh <3

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The cultural exchange will involve learning about:
    - Xeriscaping techniques and soil improvement
    - Invasive species identification/ eradication
    - Medicinal plant cultivation and preparation
    - Application of permaculture principals in an arid climate
    - Sapphire mining/ fossicking

  • Help

    Help

    #Landscaping #Gardening #Renovating #Art projects

    I ask help from Workawayers with general landscaping, renovating and artistic projects. This will be a collaborative effort between the host and yourself.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Self-contained 1 bedroom cottage.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    PUBLIC TRANSPORT:
    - The passenger train (Spirit of the outback) leaves from/ returns to Brisbane two days per week. Anakie station is the drop-off point for The Gemfields, located approximately 16km from Rubyvale. Tickets are $110 one way in the off-season (October-March). More info can be found via the website link
    - Emerald airport is located 60km away if you like to travel faster

    GETTING AROUND THE GEMFIELDS:
    - A daily bus travels to/ from Emerald (pop: 13,000), if you need to do some shopping/ access services.
    - I will be happy to chauffeur you to local spots in my free time when I am not working.
    - A bicycle will be provided for seeing local sights if you do not have a car.

    LOCAL BUSINESSES: (Distance from residence in Rubyvale)
    - Laundromat (150m)
    - Rubyvale Royal Hotel/ bottle shop (200m)
    - Rubyvale General store/ fuel station (250m)
    - Community Centre/ Library (300m)
    - Cafe/ coffee shop [During peak-season/ winter months] (400m)
    - RSL (6km)
    - Health clinic (6km)

    CLIMATE:
    SUMMER TEMPERATURE RANGE = 20 degrees to 40 degrees
    WINTER TEMPERATURE RANGE = 0 degrees to 25 degrees
    RAINFALL = 500mm to 1000mm per year
    ZONE = Sub-tropical/ Inland arid climate

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I can accomodate digital nomads, although internet connection may be slow with data limits.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is plenty of space to park a caravan or mobile home if personal accomodation is preferred or more than two people staying.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs allowed. Contact host for more details on pets.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 185365463256

Feedback

Help us around our family hobby-farm and learn organic and permaculture practices in Chidlow, Australia
Renovations on a heritage stable in the renowned Coal River Valley